Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3,648 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it just me, or does is 2,000pts now the optimal points to play 40k at? What I mean by optimal is the points at which all armies start to have an equal chance in terms of list building.

When I started playing 40k again, back in 4th ed., 1.5k seemed to be enough. In 5th ed., and with all the recent codices, 2k seems to be the level at which most armies start to be at their best - where all armies start to have an equal chance.

Some armies have really cheap Heavy Support options, others have incredibly costly ones. The same can be said about all of the FOC slots. It seems to me that it is only really at 2k that all options become feasible, allowing players of all armies to really have a good choice of strategy and tactics.

As a Necron player I know that this is particularly acute for some armies, where players have no choice of models at 500pts, and everything is very limited even at 1k-1.5k. I have also noticed this with the other armies I play (Chaos Daemons, Tyranids, Eldar), it is very difficult to do an all Wraithguard army at 1.5k for example.

Do you think this point-creep is deliberate, GW trying to make everyone use larger forces, or just coincidence?

·
Registered
390 Posts
I personally think that it's coincidence.

However, they did change whfb to become more brutal so that army lists became bigger so players had to buy more.:ireful2:

·
Registered
1,189 Posts
Thats not even my HQ xD
That's one expensive mother fucker xD

I personally am only good at 2000 as I do a Grey Hunter spam army and in 2000 points people tend to play with a lot of tanks so they have smaller amounts of infantry

It puts a smile on my face when I outnumber nids and orks

however at 1000 points there are more infantry spammers so I lose more often :*(

·
Registered
594 Posts