Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all. I'm new to 40k and would like some advice on an all comers list. I plan to play fairly competitively.

Hq
Libby tda ss force axe 140

troops
10 x tacs flamer plasma cannon rhino homer 215 x 3

Elites
5 sternguard 5 combi melta drop pod 185

5 tac termis cml chain fist 235

Fast attack
Land speeder hb typhoon 90 x 2

Stormtalon typhoon 140 x 2

Heavy support
Predator autocannon las sponsons 120 x 2

Theory is....

Sternguard suicide
Tacs combat squad and seek objectives
Libby and termis strike where most needed
Landspeeders support preds
Talons for anti air or infantry or av

I've still got 65 points to play with. Should I swap preds for vindis? Are landspeeders adequate as av support? What should I do with remaining points? Another termi, more sternguard?

Are there any holes I'm missing?

Thanks in advance for all advice. Be harsh I want a good list.

Jamo

·
Registered
3,868 Posts
Greetings all. I'm new to 40k and would like some advice on an all comers list. I plan to play fairly competitively.

Hq
Libby tda ss force axe 140
Nice choice, I like this a lot.
troops
10 x tacs flamer plasma cannon rhino homer 215 x 3
Fairly sound tactical squad choice. However, you may want to consider swapping the Plasma Cannon for a missile launcher since it can alternate between anti armour and anti personnel.
Elites
5 sternguard 5 combi melta drop pod 185
Nice.
5 tac termis cml chain fist 235
Again, nice.
Fast attack
Land speeder hb typhoon 90 x 2
The Typhoon on these are good and makes for a nice way to switch missile types. Perhaps consider a Multi Melta instead of the Heavy Bolter for an extra punch with you opponent's armour.
Stormtalon typhoon 140 x 2
Nice choice, I prefer Skyhammer missiles, but, everyone has a preference.
Heavy support
Nice choice again.

Theory is....

Sternguard suicide
Tacs combat squad and seek objectives