Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

Basically im new to Fantasy and heres my first attempt at a competitive 2000pt Lizardmen list for C&C

Lords
Slann, BSB, Cupped Hands, Focused Rumination and Focus of Mystery (Life)

Lords = 395

Hero

Skink Priest, Lvl 2 Wizard, Dispell Scroll

Heroes = 125

Core

24 Saurus with spears, Musician and Standard – 306pts

10 Skirmish Skinks = 70pts

Core = 752

Special

20 Temple Guard & Standard = 334pts

Stegadon = 235

Special Total = 537

Rare

x2 Salamander & Extra Handler = 160pts

Rare Total = 160

Grand Total = 2001

·
Registered
353 Posts
Skinks are NOT worth taking IMO. They will accomplish nothing and die in droves. Those temple guard are expensive for what is essentially an over glorified saurus, but useful with your slann. I would take Razordons of Salamanders more reliably killy in my oppinion. And you may feel the lack of an old blood or scar vet in CC

·
Registered
312 Posts
A scar vet will make a unit of saurus a huge threat to any opponent. Skirmishers are still good. They took some hits with 8th, but they can now march and shoot. If you have blowpipes, that means that you could march 12 inches and shoot 12 inches (at a single shot per skink) and get an auto wound on 6s. Now, if you manage to march within close range, all the better (you get the double tap then).

Salamanders are a must in 8th edition. Anything in under the template is hit. I face a unit of HE pheonix guard today, I had 3 salamanders fire at them. I hit the unit 18 times! Of those 18, I scored 13 wounds. And it forces a panic check if it causes 1 wound. Also, due to the war beast rules and the monster and handler rules. The skink handlers get to attack from behind thier monster and use his WS and toughness for the fight! They are awesome now!