Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7,003 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Drakwald State Army from Drakenheim

The idea of this army is to punish from a distance before finishing off the remaining opposition up close and personal like alot of empire armies, i've never used a runefang before since i prefer him to be protected (+1 save with +4 ward save usually) but if you've used one before can you give me some feedback on it. Also include the new helstorm rocket battery as i don't know how good they are. I also can't decide whether i should put my battle standard bear in the greatswords with the elector count or in a unit of swordsmen.

Other than that i would appreciate your views :)

Elector Count
Full Plate Armour
Shield
Runefang

Captain
Battle Standard Bearer
Armour of Meteroric Iron

Wizard
level 2
Dispel Scroll

Wizard
level 2
x2 Dispel Scrolls

30 Swordsmen- Detachments- 15 Halberdiers- 75, 10 Handgunners- 80
Full Command

30 Swordsmen- Detachments- 10 Handgunners- 80, 10 Handgunners- 80
Full Command

20 Greatswords- Detachments- 10 Halberdiers- 50, 10 Handgunners- 80
Full Command
Banner of Valor

Great Cannon- 100

Great Cannon- 100

Helstorm Rocket Battery- 115

Total- 2000

·
Premium Member
2,602 Posts
very nice solid looking army. maybe a few knights would be cool to bring the fight to the enemy, but the way the army is configured as strong shooting with blocks of intantry in support i can see why no knights.

·
Registered
318 Posts
Hmm, not sure about Handgunner detachments.

Static detachments breed static parent units, breeds boring game play.

I'd make the Handgunners independent units so you have more deployments and can deploy away from the Regiment blocks.

Maybe drop a 10xman Handgunner unit to give the Regiments 2 5xman Archer detachments- useful for blocking LOS, harassing from the sides, claiming objectives having been ignored, etc.