Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody. So I'm new to Warhammer 40k and I've built my first list. I want it to be as fluffy as possible and semi-competitive. I really like the idea of flamer/melta heavy lists, and I was pretty ecstatic when I realized what the Salamanders could do. I tried to keep my army mobile, whilst avoiding bikes and speeders since they're not something the Salamanders would use (correct me if I'm wrong). Advice and criticism are much appreciated! So here it is..

Vulkan
Command Squad (5) w/ Flamers (5)
Drop Pod w/ Locator Beacon
[360]

Master of the Forge
[90]

Tactical Squad (10) w/ Flamer, HF, Combi-Flamer
Rhino
[200]

Tactical Squad (10) w/ Flamer, HF, Combi-Flamer
Rhino
[200]

Sternguard Veterans (5) w/ Combi-Melta (5)
Rhino
[205]

Sternguard Veterans (5) w/ Combi-Melta (5)
Rhino
[205]

Venerable Dreadnought w/ Multi-Melta, HF
[180]

Venerable Dreadnought w/ Multi-Melta, HF
[180]

Ironclad Dreadnought w/ HF (2)
[190]

Ironclad Dreadnought w/ HF (2)
[190]

2000 points right on the dot. The idea would be to drop the 2 venerable dreads and an ironclad to take out any tanks that might shoot my rhinos as they move up the board. Hopefully Vulkan and the other ironclad comes in turn 2 or 3 to support the dreads (if they survive turn 1). Tac squads in rhinos are for objectives/support and the sternguard in rhinos are there to hunt tanks or help with any high toughness units.

·
Registered
4,634 Posts
Salamanders have less fast attack units than the average chapter, so they're not completely without bikes and speeders. As long as you're not running a pure bike army or similar you shouldn't be afraid of being un-fluffy.

I'm not massively familiar with lists at 2000 points, but hopefully the following will be helpful: