Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am new to Eldar and immediately jumped into a tournament at my LGS. They do not allow Forgeworld, so I am kinda screwed there as I have a wraithseer and Nightwings that I cannot use. So below is my list that has been modified since my utter destruction 2 hours ago. Any advice you could give would be appreciated and most welcome.

Warlord- Eldrad

HQ- Farseer with Guide

Heavy- 3x Wraithlord with 2 flamers, Brightlance, and ML

Heavy- Warwalker Sqaudron x3 all with x2 Scatter Lasers

Troops- 5 Guardian Jetbikes with Warlock (Warlock has Embolden)

Troops- 5 Dire Avengers w/ Exarch in a Wave Serpent
Exarch has 2 Avenger SC's with Bladestorm
Wave Serpent has TL ML

Elite- 5 Fire Dragons in a Wave Serpent
Wave Serpent has TL ML

Troops- 10 Pathfinders

Troops- Storm Guardians with a Fusion Gun

Comes out to 2000 points on the dot. I am very open to suggestions to not lose by turn 3.

·
Registered
129 Posts
Mobility and firepower! With the current rulebook and the various codexes being what they are, its been my experience and observations that things like wraithlords, pathfinders, dire avengers/storm guardians/firedragons in wave serpents, etc., really aren't as useful in blind tournaments at 2000 pts as you just played. Go with things like jetbikes, vypers, fire prisms, nights spinners, war walkers, etc.- things which either move fast when needed, and/or hit hard from respectable range. Also try to get some kind of anti-flyer capability! The only 'special' types of infantry that we have that seem to be worthwhile are scorpions and harlequins. We generally need to be a sort of hybrid of the best elements of Tau and I.G.- we somehow have to be fast, hit hard from a distance, really play to our strengths while trying to negate enemy strengths as much as possible, and really stay out of close combats/assaults! Cheers!

·
Registered
7 Posts