Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I am a complete newby to Warhammer and need some advice on a list. I have put together a preliminary list based off what little experience I have. Any suggestions or direction would be greatly appreciated.

++LORD++
Daemon Prince: Daemonic Flight, Daemon of Khorne, Wizard Level 1 – 320

++CORE++
10 Chaos Warriors: Full command, MoT, Shields, Halberds – 230

++SPECIAL++
5 Chaos Knights: Barded Chaos Steed, Standard Bearer, MoK, Ensorcelled Weapons

++RARE++
Hellcannon

This comes out to 995 points. My thoughts were anvil my core, use Daemon Prince and Hellcannon to deal with range and flanking and use my knights to maneuver and flank. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Cheers!

·
Super Moderator
8,563 Posts
Your army is very very small, even for 1000 points, so risks getting outmanoeuvred.

I suggest trimming slightly (probably the MoK on the Knights and the Champion in the Warriors) to buy some Warhounds. This will give you something for cheap deployment drops, redirecting, and tying up missile units so they don't shoot something valuable.

·
Premium Member
12,830 Posts
The Daemon Prince cannot be both a wizard and take the Mark of Khirne. Although you fly making frenzy less painful, it is still an issue at this points level, as you can be brought away from the foghts you need to concentrate on. As a beginner I wouldn't advise honestly.

Kitting out the warriors with Shields and Halberds is alroght, but remember that you don't get the Shield Parry in CC because halberds are 2H so the Shields only provide +1 save when recoeving shooting attacks. I personally don't think it is worth choosing 2 - with MoT I think you are going for Shield usage so I'd drop the Halberds. Or the Mark+Shields. The champion is a bit of a points drain as well.