Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2,420 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I observed a very educational 35pts battle between Orboros and Khador. I focused my attention on the latter, since I have some knowledge of that army and mine isn't all that different from it, though one could say that mine has a bit of a cryxian twist to them. There were only two 'jacks, the rest were units, solos and horsies. Oh and eVlad. You could imagine my noobish amazment as the 'jacks took their time and slammed into the enemy lines only when the units and solos softened them up (well, truth to be told, they almost dealt with everything, the 'jacks were just an icing on the cake) to deliver the killing blow in one fell swoop.

So with an increased respect for non-warjacks and a decreased budget :)P) I turned my attention to Grand Exemplar Kreoss and his lads with balls of holy steel, and made this list:

Grand Exemplar Kreoss
Fire of Salvation
Exemplar Errants (Leader and 5 Grunts)
Exemplar Errant Officer & Standard Bearer
Knights Exemplar (Leader and 5 Grunts)

The idea is to keep my Errants in terrain or in a nice trolling spot and provoke my opponent to attack them. Kreoss will either roll with these guys (opponent gets in Chasten range, pop it, step back, repeat) or with the Knights (the Protectorate equivalent of a small Nobz unit and a Warboss, you could say :p). Salvy will stay with the unit Kreoss leaves alone, so that my opponent will have to carefully decide which one to attack first, seeing the painfully obvious trap. However, the trap is within the trap: he will either spread his forces between the two groups, or focus on one and protect his flank. Either way hes pretty much fucked because 1, both sides can push hard enough to make his lads crack (especially when Kreoss pops his feat) 2, the whole army is SPD5 so despite being a rather Khador-esque bunch they can hurry when it is necessary and outmanouvre the opponent.