Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I was looking to try and run an allied list with a small force i'm looking to invest in. My ideas was to have a fast, hard hitting blood angels core, with plenty of guard bodies to make up the numbers, probably some tanks too. I'm very new to guard and still trying to grasp the idea of platoons and that. I know this is a guard list forum so i'm not sure if i'm posting in the right place, correct me if i'm wrong please.

The core looks something like this:

- Reclusiarch in a drop pod with death company with bolters and some axes

- 2 lascannon razorbacks with 6 man assault squads in them with meltas

- 2 baal preds

This leaves me with around 400 points to play with, what would you suggest bringing for the guard? I was hoping to get 2 cadian defence force boxes as it looks like a solid core to base the new army about.
let me know what you think :) thanks.

·
Registered
6,323 Posts
Ha! A list after my own heart. I'd go:

Reclusiarch

9x man DC w/ 2x Axes, Bolters, Drop Pod

6x man Assault squad w/ Melta Gun, Razorback with Lascannons

6x man Assault squad w/ Melta Gun, Razorback with Lascannons

Baal Predator w/ Assault Cannons, Heavy Bolters

Company Command Squad w/ Chimera

Veterans w/ 2x Melta Guns, Flamer, Chimera

Veterans w/ 2x Melta Guns, Flamer, Chimera

Leman Russ Demolisher w/ Heavy Bolters

1501 points. I know it's one less Baal than you intended, but...Demolisher!!

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That's really handy actually ntaw, I'd only have to buy the new cadian defence force box set. The only problem I have though, is that I wanted to be able to have a mass of bodies to make up for the lack of blood Angels. Like I said, I'm no expert in guard but if u think it'll work that's fine by me. Also, how would u go about securing objectives in your DZ? Thanks

·
Registered
6,323 Posts