Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well 'ello to y'all!

As mentioned above (title) I'm a beginner and therefor, my battle experience isn't that vast...

Currently I'm just playing against Vanilla SM, Deamonhunters, Necrons and possibly Tau as these are all the armies me and meh dear friends are currently fielding.

Anyway, here's the list I've come up with:

HQ
Librarian w. Jump pack - 125 pts

Troops
Assault squad I
10x Marines w. Powerfist, 2x Meltaguns - 235 pts

Assault Squad II
5x Marines w. Power weapon, Meltagun, Meltagrenades. in Razorback - 150 pts

Elites
Furioso Dreadnought w. Frag C., Bloodfist and Drop pod - 160 pts

Sang. Guard w. Powerfist, Chapter banner - 240 pts

Sang. Priest w. PW, jump pack - 90 pts

My idea is to let everyone with jump packs go together in a great blob o' death (hopefully).

Thoughts? Ideas?

Cheers! :thank_you:

·
Registered
316 Posts
Well First i recommend at 1000pts either have you Assault Marines squads be mech or Jump pack, i would not run one of each. If you decide to go Razorback squads i would try to squeeze a 3rd squad in at 1000 pts. The Furioso i would drop the drop pod and make it a librarian with wings and might of heroes(this will be a fire magnet but will make sure your Assault marines will get there).

·
Registered
116 Posts
I see several issues in your list:
1) Dreadnought - it arrives by drop pod assault on turn one, while most of your army is reserved to use DoA/hidden on your table edge, right? So it gonna get shot at, and pretty heavily.
2) 2 vehicles in the army: Dread is the sole target for enemy melta (he's in range already), Razorback - the sole target for long range guns.
3) One priest for 500+ pts of flying marines is not the safest choice, I think. Blob of death is a better target for enemy Blast weapons.
4) 5 golden boys with a Chapter Banner - aren't these 25% of your army a bit of an overkill for such a format?