Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
498 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, to start.
I'm a kind of guy who can't go a couple of days without thinking of a Marine army at a Tourny.
Ever since I started playing I've always dreamt of going to a Tourny and not winning but meeting some fellow hobbyists over the table.
I hate people who play Razorspam and dual Raiders, as well as being completely made to win, they are against the fluff of Marines (I love my Background.)
So I decided to make a Marine army were every Marine squad had a name and they would follow a strict Fluff backstory of my Chapter.

Here goes

HQ
Captain Lucifer Virtus
Relic Blade
Artificer Armour: 145

Troops
Tactical Squad Alpha
Meltagun
Missile Launcher
Power Fist
Combi-Flamer
Rhino: 245

Tactical Squad Beta
Meltagun
Missile Launcher
Power Fist
Combi-Flamer
Rhino: 245

Elites
Sternguard Squad Charlie
Combi-Melta
Power Fist
Razorback with Twin-Linked Lascannon: 230

Dreadnought Caesar
Twin-Linked Lascannon: 135

How's that. I'm looking for a pretty competitive army without going the Razorspam or Dual Raider route, and definately not Vulkan.

·
Registered
314 Posts
TLLC on a dread is to expensive to be good, if you want him to footslog then give him 2x TLAC and watch him annihilate Rhinos. Las-plas is better than TLLC on RBs and costs the same. Lose the fist on the vets for some more combi melts. Try to gewt your captain a bike if you can, at 1000 he can go solo hiding behind your rhinos and kill squads of opportunity. Good hunting.

·
Registered
344 Posts
gaaah, must resist urge to offer defense of powergamers....

anyway advice to you drop the powerfists, relic blade and lascannon on the dread, also switch to a rhino for the sternguard shooting combi weapons out the top is invaluable. Switch the captain over to a libby.