Empire Assistance - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Warhammer Tactics Discuss the art of war in Warhammer Fantasy. Exceptional topics will be stickied.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-10-11, 09:59 PM Thread Starter

Partybear's Flag is: United Kingdom

Default Empire Assistance

I am relatively new to fantasy after moving from 40k, I have decided to go with empire and i would like some advice from some more experienced players.
Before i build my state troopers i want to know if swordsmen are worth the additional point compared to Halbadiers as the parent unit?
Also with the current GW prices im looking at purchasing free companies as my detachments due to the fact you get 20 models instead of 10! (yes i know im cheap! )
If you have any advice for me please let me know before i build my battalion box set!!

Play the Game Fool!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-11-11, 09:07 PM

Flem's Flag is: Europe

Swordmen are a solid choice, for the extra point you get an +1 WS, +1I and you can use yur shield in combat so are more ressilient. Halbadiers form a nice detachment just like Free company do. In the end it's what you like more, the St4 of the halbadiers or the extra attacks from the free company.
The battalion is a good start for any empire army.
-State troop are the heart ad soul of an empire army
-Handgunners are nice for some raged damage
-Great swords are just awsome with their stubborn , 4+as and +2 strenght(even if they always hit last)
-Knights arn't this good in the current edition if you ask me but their speed could give you a nice tactical advantage. And let's not forget having an 1+ AS makes you difficult to kill.