WoC vs HE - any advice for a beginner? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Warhammer Tactics Discuss the art of war in Warhammer Fantasy. Exceptional topics will be stickied.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-15-12, 04:01 PM Thread Starter
Hastour's Flag is: Poland

Default WoC vs HE - any advice for a beginner?

Hi. I've recently started a Warriors of Chaos army. I'm a veteran of 5th edition, but haven't played for so many years I consider myself a noob again.

An experienced high elves general is my main enemy, and I'd love to hear some advice, since beating him is tough.

My small force consists of 24 warriors and 30 marauders as core, 5 knights and 10 hounds. They are led to battle by a sorcerer, a champion and BSB. A scratch-built charriot I glued together last night is a latest addition.

My friend fields big blocks of spearmen and swordmasters, which I find extremely hard to crack due to their ASF and a crazy number of attacks. The only luck I had was with magic, but it is a feeble ally, and bad rolls for casting ruin my day.

It's time to do some shopping and expand my army to 2000-2500 points. Any advice on what to get next, suited for this particular enemy?

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-15-12, 04:30 PM

Archaon18's Flag is: England

Spearman aren't that hard to crack, just hit them with Warriors, then the amount of attacks will be lessened by numbers required then just smite them back with your own volume of attacks. With sword masters a bit of Treason will not hurt. In fact this will decimate the unit then allowing a flank attack or even more magic will be good.

Lasguns- You can never have too little firepower
My Tactics Blog - ChaosTactica

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOfCheese View Post
"Hey babe, want me to Power Fist your Pink Horror?"

"Is it ok if my Old One Eye penetrates your Devilfish?"
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-16-12, 10:54 AM Thread Starter