Lore of Shadows with WoC - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Warhammer Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer Fantasy rules queries here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-29-10, 03:18 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Karnox's Avatar
Karnox's Flag is: Russia
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 309
Reputation: 1
Default Lore of Shadows with WoC

Okay there were 3 things that came up for me.
Basicly succesfully casting the lore of shadows allows you to switch places with the caster and a different hero/lord so the three things I want to know is...

1) Can a sorcerer who is in combat switch places out of combat with another character. And does a daemonic mount count as a ridden monster or just normal cavalry since they have to be the same troop type to swap

2) If a chosen champion has the book of secret arts and casts a shadow spell, does the lore attribute affect him (I'm guessing not since he is a unit champion and not a character just making sure)

3) If call to glory is cast on a unit champion can that champion then switch places with a sorcer who succesfully casts a shadow spell, cause call to glory effectivly changes the champion into an exalted hero, who now considered a character is by the rules of the shadow lore able to switch places.


When life gives you lemons..... BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!
Karnox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-29-10, 04:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Masked Jackal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mormon-Town. D:
Posts: 2,247
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karnox View Post
Okay there were 3 things that came up for me.
Basicly succesfully casting the lore of shadows allows you to switch places with the caster and a different hero/lord so the three things I want to know is...

1) Can a sorcerer who is in combat switch places out of combat with another character. And does a daemonic mount count as a ridden monster or just normal cavalry since they have to be the same troop type to swap
Yes. As for the second part, it should be defined in the rulebook, the unit type would be what the mount is.

2) If a chosen champion has the book of secret arts and casts a shadow spell, does the lore attribute affect him (I'm guessing not since he is a unit champion and not a character just making sure)
He would actually be able to switch I believe. It is not him who has to be a character, but the person he switches with.

3) If call to glory is cast on a unit champion can that champion then switch places with a sorcer who succesfully casts a shadow spell, cause call to glory effectivly changes the champion into an exalted hero, who now considered a character is by the rules of the shadow lore able to switch places.
And finally, for the third question, yes. He is now a character model.

Writer of crappy fics, I hope you might derive some enjoyment from them.

FictionPress.com: For original stuff.

FanFiction.net: For stuff that is part of an established universe.
Masked Jackal is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-29-10, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Durzod's Avatar
Durzod's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Salem, OR USA
Posts: 324
Reputation: 1
Default

Have to disagree with the jackal on #2. Unit champions can never leave their units under ant circumstances. Which would tend to make me believe that #3 would also be not allowed either, unless you plan on boomeranging your champion back to his unit if Call to Glory is dispelled. Easier to pull a Betty Ford and "Just say No!"

The pellet with the poison's in the vessel with the pestle.
The chalice from the palace has the brew that is true.
Durzod is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-29-10, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Masked Jackal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mormon-Town. D:
Posts: 2,247
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durzod View Post
Have to disagree with the jackal on #2. Unit champions can never leave their units under ant circumstances. Which would tend to make me believe that #3 would also be not allowed either, unless you plan on boomeranging your champion back to his unit if Call to Glory is dispelled. Easier to pull a Betty Ford and "Just say No!"
Hmm, if there is a rule in the BRB that says you can't have the champion leave, then yes, you would be correct Durzod. Sorry, Karnox.

Writer of crappy fics, I hope you might derive some enjoyment from them.

FictionPress.com: For original stuff.

FanFiction.net: For stuff that is part of an established universe.
Masked Jackal is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-29-10, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
effigy22's Avatar
effigy22's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Basingrad, UK
Posts: 1,375
Reputation: 6
Default

Read the spell rules - a single model may be removed from play and replaced with an exalted champion - do it to a champion of a unit - he no longer counts as a champion since the champion is technically DEAD!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svartmetall View Post
Don't, after rolling that final 1 too many, flip out, climb up on the table and jump up and down on your opponent's models screaming 'APOCALYPTIC BARRAGE, MOTHERFUCKER!!!'.
effigy22 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-29-10, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Masked Jackal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mormon-Town. D:
Posts: 2,247
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by effigy22 View Post
Read the spell rules - a single model may be removed from play and replaced with an exalted champion - do it to a champion of a unit - he no longer counts as a champion since the champion is technically DEAD!
It is however, a remains-in-play spell, meaning he can turn back into a champion later. :/

Writer of crappy fics, I hope you might derive some enjoyment from them.

FictionPress.com: For original stuff.

FanFiction.net: For stuff that is part of an established universe.
Masked Jackal is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-29-10, 02:12 PM
Tzeentch laughs at likely
 
Dave T Hobbit's Avatar
Dave T Hobbit's Flag is: Europe
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Inside my Head, Bristol, UK
Posts: 8,554
Reputation: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masked Jackal View Post
It is however, a remains-in-play spell, meaning he can turn back into a champion later. :/
Not so, The FAQ saith:

Q. What happens when Call to Glory is dispelled/ends after it has
been cast? (p108)
A. The model disappears. This does not count as killing the
Exalted Hero and does not award the extra 100 victory points.
Dave T Hobbit is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-29-10, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Masked Jackal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mormon-Town. D:
Posts: 2,247
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave T Hobbit View Post
Not so, The FAQ saith:

Q. What happens when Call to Glory is dispelled/ends after it has
been cast? (p108)
A. The model disappears. This does not count as killing the
Exalted Hero and does not award the extra 100 victory points.
Wut? That was really their solution? I guess it makes sense from a rules perspective, but it makes no sense otherwise.

Writer of crappy fics, I hope you might derive some enjoyment from them.

FictionPress.com: For original stuff.

FanFiction.net: For stuff that is part of an established universe.
Masked Jackal is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-29-10, 06:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Sethis's Avatar
Sethis's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alston, Cumbria
Posts: 4,190
Reputation: 58
Default

Also note that it says "Rank and File model" so you cannot turn any of the command group into an Exalted Hero.

90% of people think they are above average.

Statistically Improbable. Psychologically Inevitable.
Sethis is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-30-10, 10:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 442
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sethis View Post
Also note that it says "Rank and File model" so you cannot turn any of the command group into an Exalted Hero.
i fail to see a draw back here lol
Cheese meister is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer Fantasy Battles & Age of Sigmar > Warhammer Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome