Spears Charged in Flank - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Warhammer Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer Fantasy rules queries here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-01-10, 12:01 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Cleitus_the_Black's Avatar
Cleitus_the_Black's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 431
Reputation: 1
Default Spears Charged in Flank

I tried looking around the forum for this but didn't find anything. If a unit using spears gets charged in the flank, do they lose the two ranks of attacks and only attack with the front rank? I have read on other forums that this is the case, but have not found it spelled out in the rule book. If someone has the page #, or can tell me that this is wishful thinking, that would be great.

Thanks in advance, ladies and gents.
Cleitus_the_Black is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-01-10, 01:01 AM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Spears can only be used when fighting to the front... Page 55 "Fight In Ranks" 2nd paragraph

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-01-10, 01:49 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Cleitus_the_Black's Avatar
Cleitus_the_Black's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 431
Reputation: 1
Default

You are wonderful. It's nice being able to anonymously admit your foolish oversights and have them corrected by kind people like yourself.
Cleitus_the_Black is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-01-10, 02:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Othiem's Avatar
Othiem's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 475
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
Spears can only be used when fighting to the front... Page 55 "Fight In Ranks" 2nd paragraph
Just to clarify, if the unit is fighting with their spears, they can still fight to the side, but only those in base to base contact, not an additional row.
Othiem is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-01-10, 07:02 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Cleitus_the_Black's Avatar
Cleitus_the_Black's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 431
Reputation: 1
Default

Yeah I got that but thank you for clarifying anyways. Take that Sauruseseses
Cleitus_the_Black is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-25-10, 11:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Barnster's Avatar
Barnster's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 18
Default

saurus will still have alot of attacks coming at you, its best against loow quality troops like clanrats and state troops who really on their spears, or high elves
Barnster is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer Fantasy Battles & Age of Sigmar > Warhammer Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome