[question 1.] If a wizard is engaged in close combat can he still cast spells? or must it say in the spell description specifically that he may?
Yes a wizard in close combat can still cast spells, as Darktheos and neilbatte say. The only time wizards can't cast spells is if they are fleeing or not on the table, they also cannot cast in to close combat unless the spell only effects the caster or the the details say otherwise. Page 107 helps here.
[question 2.] If a character that has the ASF rule joins a unit that does NOT have the ASF rule, does that character lose ASF? Or does he simply strike before everyone (assuming the enemy unit/char doesnt have ASF) then it goes to the normal order of whomever charged or init...?
I would agree with the others that the character has ASF and the unit doesn't, so treat them as separate, much the same as fighting in initiative order in a combat where no-one charged, each model gets to fight when it is their turn regardless of side. I haven't seen anything written down about this scenario, so I would just apply commonsense until it is FAQed otherwise.
[question 3.] Say I have a chaos lord with the mark of slaanesh (confers immunity to psychology) and he is equipped with a helm of many eyes, does he still suffer from stupidiy or does the helm of many eyes trump the mark of slaanesh?
You need to re-read Mark of Slaanesh in your WoC book. It only gives immunity to Fear, Terror and Panic so does not give full ItP, though full ItP makes no mention of stupidity either as it happens. This is good as it allows you more flexibility, but in this case doesn't help with the Helm of Many Eyes stupidity.
Last edited by squeek; 04-24-09 at 10:31 AM.