Killing Blow - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Warhammer Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer Fantasy rules queries here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-25-08, 02:42 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
crocodilesoldier's Avatar
crocodilesoldier's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: England
Posts: 37
Reputation: 1
Default Killing Blow

Um Undead horsey people charge a Prince on a Dragon, one hit, dead High Elf Prince.......

Is this correct? Ive looked at the BRB, and it states unit strength of mounted character must be 2 or under to be effected by the KB rule. Which seems it would be, but mounted on a monster the unit strength is increased.


I know I am clutching at straws here but just wanted it confirmed by an outside independant.

Walk softly and carry a big stick.
crocodilesoldier is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-25-08, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Ragnar_Burmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 129
Default

You can KB a character riding a monster yes assuming the characters unit strength on foot would not be more that 2.

I can't think of any characters that ride monsters that are anything other than 1 anyway so almost certainly yes.

That's a dead High Elf prince assuming he doesn't have and make a ward save. Remember you also cannot regenerate wounds from KB so Tyrion is particularly weak to it.

The Essex Warhounds Gaming Club

When the Old Wolf calls I will answer
Ragnar_Burmane is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-25-08, 02:50 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
crocodilesoldier's Avatar
crocodilesoldier's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: England
Posts: 37
Reputation: 1
Default

Many thanks Ragner for the quick reply.
I thought it would be best to moan here, rather than cause a scene during the game.

Oh well one overly armoured Prince coming up.

Walk softly and carry a big stick.
crocodilesoldier is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-25-08, 04:10 PM
The voices told me to....
 
Hudson's Avatar
Hudson's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Norwich
Posts: 820
Reputation: 1
Default

plus it's not that easy to get killing blow i mean you still need a 6

Hudson is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-26-08, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
swntzu's Avatar
swntzu's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In yo' face!
Posts: 445
Reputation: 1
Default

A wight king with sword of kings or whatever can get it on a 5+ so you need to watch for that.

The original question was answered quickly and cleanly so I can add nothing other than my agreement. The only case that I can think of with a rider on a monster with >US2 is Mazmamundi (Slann on Stegadon).
swntzu is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-18-08, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
edd_thereaper's Avatar
edd_thereaper's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: lincoln, england
Posts: 427
Reputation: 3
Default

even if you do need 6's to get a killing blow, its a 1 in 6 chance and things like big blocks of tomb guard can get quite a few models in base contact, as i found out when they flank charged my inner circle knights in the flank and wiped of the back rank with his killing blow over 2 turns
edd_thereaper is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-18-08, 04:28 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Default

Also watch out for Skulltaker - he can KB creatures of any size on a 5+. Would hate to see that Lord on Star Dragon charge him, Lord wiffs on his attacks and then slash/ Star Dragon dies.
jax40kplyr is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-18-08, 10:44 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 389
Default

he can only do that in a challange though
but he always has to challange it
DarknessDawns is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-24-08, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
SPYDeR13's Avatar
SPYDeR13's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Culpeper, VA
Posts: 202
Reputation: 1
Default

I was going to add something here but I see that it was already coverd, sorry.

Last edited by SPYDeR13; 11-24-08 at 03:37 PM.
SPYDeR13 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-24-08, 03:37 PM
Must keep painting....
 
squeek's Avatar
squeek's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 2,977
Reputation: 1
Default

I'm afraid that the rule on page 95 about killing blow is pretty clear on that one. It can be used on blows directed against the character ignoring the US of the mount, as long as the characters US on foot is 2 or less.
squeek is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer Fantasy Battles & Age of Sigmar > Warhammer Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome