Black Coach Base Size - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Warhammer Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer Fantasy rules queries here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 11-15-14, 06:54 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
spooky86668's Flag is: Croatia
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 8
Reputation: 1
Default Black Coach Base Size

I've been wondering about this for some time, and I can't find a real answer anywhere, so if someone knows FOR SURE, please give an answer:

What's the base size for a Vampire Counts Black Coach ???

I know it's a chariot, so it should be 50100, but the model is too big for that, and on the GW page, where it's shown in a picture, only the horses have bases and the cart is just being pulled behind them without any base, which is ... I don't know ... Weird ...
I have 3 old files that list base sizes for all units in the game, and they're all GW copyrighted, so I know they weren't just someone's interpretation ...

First one is from 2003. and it says 50100, second one is from 2009. and says 50125 (which would be just enough to fit the mini on there), and the third one doesn't have a year on it, but says 50100+ ... Now I don't know what that "+" is supposed to be !!! Is it 50100 minimal, but can be longer or what ???

Pity the damn thing doesn't come with a base, than I would know !!!
Anyway ... Mine's mounted on a 50125 base and so far only 1 guy complained that that's not a regulation base (like those 25mm REALLY mattered), but I'd like to know for sure what it's supposed to be mounted on ...

Last edited by spooky86668; 11-15-14 at 06:57 PM.
spooky86668 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 11-17-14, 11:39 AM
Tzeentch laughs at likely
 
Dave T Hobbit's Avatar
Dave T Hobbit's Flag is: Europe
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Inside my Head, Bristol, UK
Posts: 8,549
Reputation: 44
Default

There are two approaches supported by possible GW opinion:

(1) Base it on what comes in the box (fits the general rule for base size)

(2) Base it on the last GW stated base (fits the general principle that GW issue FAQ/errata to change from a previous situation)

However, only a wider frontage gives you a real advantage: a longer side means more enemy can flank, so more attacks for them. So, having 50mm front equivalent to two cavalry bases is the bit you need; anyone who argues the base is too long is giving you an advantage.
So,
Dave T Hobbit is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer Fantasy Battles & Age of Sigmar > Warhammer Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome