A question about generals - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Warhammer Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer Fantasy rules queries here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-27-14, 07:04 PM Thread Starter

Default A question about generals

I'm still new to the game and I have a question about generals

my Skaven army book says that if my army is less then a 2000 point army I can't have a hero, but the warhammer rulebook says I can pick any hero or lord to be my general. if I have a 1000 or 1500 point army am I allowed to have a Grey Seer or Queek Headtaker(lord models I own) as my general without breaking the army makeup rules? there isn't really a clear answer I've found in either book.

Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-27-14, 09:50 PM

KarnalBloodfist's Flag is: USA

Are you using the most recent book?

AFAIK you can most certainly use a hero lvl character as your general in a game provided he has the highest Ld among all characters. But I haven't seen the inside of a Skaven book for quite some time so there might be some odd rule in there. Remember, the army book always takes precedence.

In a 1000 or 1500 game, you are only limited by the max points for whatever slot your picking the character from. There is 25% max lords and 25% max heroes for any given game unless your are playing some special scenario. So, in 1000pts you can have a lord (or lords) worth up to 250pts and in 1500pts you can have a lord (or lords) worth up to 375pts. The same goes for the hero slot. If you are using the actual rules for Queek you'd have to see what his points value is. If it is over 250pts, then you cannot use him in a 1000pt game. If he is over 375pts you cannot use him in a 1500pt game either.

post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-27-14, 09:58 PM
Vaz

Vaz's Flag is: United Kingdom