Forever evading close combat with fast movement? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Warhammer Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer Fantasy rules queries here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-24-14, 08:59 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 16
Reputation: 1
Default Forever evading close combat with fast movement?

So recently and friend and I had a bloody battle, and at the end he basically had a somewhat large unit of infantry left, and I had a flying monster (daemon prince).

I'll attach a (poorly drawn) image to explain the issue.



So basically, I just moved to his flank and blasted him with magic templates. On his turn he couldn't charge be because I was out of the FoV. Rinse, latter, repeat.

Afterwards I've started wondering if this was really allowed. It just feels so cheesy. I've been trying to disprove myself, but it just seems that the only way to enter close combat is through charging, and that while charging allows a free 90 degree turn it still needs to be directed at something in your forward arc.

What am I missing?
Jokerstyle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-25-14, 04:00 PM
Tzeentch laughs at likely
 
Dave T Hobbit's Avatar
Dave T Hobbit's Flag is: Europe
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Inside my Head, Bristol, UK
Posts: 8,549
Reputation: 44
Default

Harrying around a unit like that is one of the things Fast Cavalry are good at.

The counterbalance is that the FC unit is usually paying for the privilege in points and it doesn't work very well if your opponent supports his units with other units.

The only way to beat it with a single unit I can think of is if the attacked unit managed to get Random Movement; then they could turn to face and wander into melee.
Dave T Hobbit is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-28-14, 08:30 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 16
Reputation: 1
Default

Thank you.
I must say that the inability to walk into close combat is one of the strangest phenomena of the rules. I just can't visualise it.

I think that's something we will probably house rule later, my opponent has multiple times been in a spot where he could just walk straight up to me only to hear "No no, you can only charge into battle". Makes little sense.
Jokerstyle is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer Fantasy Battles & Age of Sigmar > Warhammer Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome