Killing Blow and Ethereal - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Warhammer Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer Fantasy rules queries here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-26-13, 05:32 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
shelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 204
Reputation: 5
Default Killing Blow and Ethereal

Can a model with the Killing Blow special rule (but no magic attacks) still 'slay' a model with the Ethereal special rule?

Not sure where to stand on this.

On the one hand, a model with no magic attacks cannot wound Ethereal models, so cannot slay them with Killing Blow. On the other hand, models with Killing Blow roll a to wound roll of six - slaying the defender, though not wounding them.

So I guess the question here is in fact can a model that cannot wound the defender still roll a to wound roll?

Thoughts?
shelman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-26-13, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Creon's Avatar
Creon's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,166
Reputation: 16
Default

You can't wound the target. So there is no wound roll. He is immune to any effects of non-magic weapons.
Creon is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-26-13, 09:34 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

What Creon said.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-27-13, 03:41 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
shelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 204
Reputation: 5
Default

That's what I thought. I just couldn't find anything definitive in the BRB that says you can't attempt a to wound roll. It's probably there somewhere!!
shelman is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-27-13, 08:11 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Page 68 says that Ethereal Creatures can only be wounded by spells, magical weapons, Magical attacks or effects.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-28-13, 08:01 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
shelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 204
Reputation: 5
Default

Ah!! 'Or effects'. Must have missed that one! Cheers
shelman is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer Fantasy Battles & Age of Sigmar > Warhammer Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome