Empire Battle Priests + Magic Dice - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Warhammer Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer Fantasy rules queries here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-11-13, 08:13 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default Empire Battle Priests + Magic Dice

So the rules for Battle Priests say that they generate Magic Dice and Dispel dice like wizards. However, they don't have Wizard Levels, only bound spells. Does this mean that an army can't dispel unless you have a true Battle Wizard in the army?

Also, partially related: Can those magic dice be used to augment the bound spells (basically to bump the caster level for anti-dispel?)

Xabre is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-11-13, 09:14 PM
Senior Member
 
effigy22's Avatar
effigy22's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Basingrad, UK
Posts: 1,375
Reputation: 6
Default

What it means is they can make a channelling roll.

There bound spells can still be dispelled as normal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svartmetall View Post
Don't, after rolling that final 1 too many, flip out, climb up on the table and jump up and down on your opponent's models screaming 'APOCALYPTIC BARRAGE, MOTHERFUCKER!!!'.
effigy22 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-11-13, 09:43 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

So unless I have Battle Wizards, I can't really do anything else with them except cast their bound spells, and their Holy Power rule doesn't help. Good to know. I was hoping to use them almost like armored dispell dice, but that's out.

Xabre is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-11-13, 11:03 PM
Senior Member
 
effigy22's Avatar
effigy22's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Basingrad, UK
Posts: 1,375
Reputation: 6
Default

You can always dispel. Sorry, misread the first part. Its just easier with a wizard as you gain a bonus equal to magic level.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svartmetall View Post
Don't, after rolling that final 1 too many, flip out, climb up on the table and jump up and down on your opponent's models screaming 'APOCALYPTIC BARRAGE, MOTHERFUCKER!!!'.
effigy22 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-29-13, 06:04 AM
Senior Member
 
LordofFenris's Avatar
LordofFenris's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MASS USA
Posts: 317
Reputation: 1
Default

Warrior Priests are boss. I face them a lot and they CONSISTENTLY perform. They should not be taken alone, and work very well with a Level 4 caster, particularly in the dispel world. In addition, if you have a level 4 with, say Light, it makes your opponent play run around trying to figure out what to stop: the amazing for Empire Light buff spells, or the equally amazing Warrior Priest bound spells. Mathhammer: Lets say you are casting Barona's Timewarp with your level 4. You have 2 Warrior Priests and 10 Power dice, your opponent has 6 and a level 4. You throw 4 dice and get the spell off on a 15. Your opponent now has to chase that with 4 dice, 3 to even make it and 1 for insurance. That leaves him down to 4 dice vs your 8. You can now bait him with your bound spells. Will he let them through risking 5+ wards and whatnot? Or will he try to chase them down dice for dice? Either way, that's not a game he's going to win and you will get off plenty of bound spells.

"Take a moment, please. Ponder the depths of your insignificance."

"It would be disappointing if you were unable to overcome this simplest of defenses. Hilarious, but disappointing."

40k
Crimson Fists (C:SM)
Necrons
Khorne Daemonkin

Other
WARMAHORDES (Skorne, Blindwater Congregation, Retribution of Scyrah)
DROPZONE COMMANDER (PHR)
LordofFenris is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer Fantasy Battles & Age of Sigmar > Warhammer Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome