Screaming Bell - some questions - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Warhammer Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer Fantasy rules queries here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-25-13, 09:43 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
iain1976's Avatar
iain1976's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 11
Reputation: 1
Default Screaming Bell - some questions

Hi guys,

I've got a couple of questions about the Skaven Screaming Bell which hopefully someone will be able to answer:

1) If the Bell is in close combat, can a model in base to base contact with it choose to attack the Grey Seer mounted on it, or are they forced to attack either the Bell or the unit pushing it?

2) If a magic missile is cast against the Bell can it target the Grey Seer, or would this sort of attack have to follow the same rules as regular missile fire targeting the Bell?

3) Can The Dreaded Thirteenth Spell target characters if they are attached to a unit?

Thanks,

Iain
iain1976 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-26-13, 05:22 AM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

1- yes, if only in contact with the bell then you must attack the bell/grey seer.

2- it randomises hits between the bell and grey seer as for shooting.

3- if everything in the unit is infantry then certainly, its a horrific spell

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-26-13, 10:15 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
iain1976's Avatar
iain1976's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 11
Reputation: 1
Default

Many thanks for the quick response. The Dreaded Thirteenth is really quite disgusting!

I've one other point; can the Grey Seer only use Verminous Valour to escape from a challenge and not when they are the target of a regular attack?
iain1976 is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-26-13, 02:24 PM
Tzeentch laughs at likely
 
Dave T Hobbit's Avatar
Dave T Hobbit's Flag is: Europe
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Inside my Head, Bristol, UK
Posts: 8,549
Reputation: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iain1976 View Post
can the Grey Seer only use Verminous Valour to escape from a challenge and not when they are the target of a regular attack?
Only to avoid challenges.
Dave T Hobbit is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-26-13, 02:38 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
iain1976's Avatar
iain1976's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 11
Reputation: 1
Default

Thank you. Must learn to position the Bell so Tyrion can't charge into its base...
iain1976 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-26-13, 05:29 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

A grey seer on a bell can't make use of verminous valour: you can't move the bell so the grey seer is unable to be 'moved' out of base contact with the enemy... unless you aren't engaged to the the front, in which case you can't fight in any case anyway and certainly can't be challenged.

Then again I'm not entirely sure you can challenge a bell... it seems weird but I can't find an exclusion.


Last edited by Tim/Steve; 06-26-13 at 05:35 PM.
Tim/Steve is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-26-13, 05:41 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
iain1976's Avatar
iain1976's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 11
Reputation: 1
Default

Checked the book and it says the Seer can use Verminous Valour to refuse a challenge (in theory he scuttles up to the top of the Bell).
iain1976 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-23-14, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
crimson skull's Avatar
crimson skull's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Essex
Posts: 226
Reputation: 1
Default

dreaded thirteenth can't affect the unit as the bell makes it unique and not just infantry and in the same way the unit cannot be stomped or thunder stomped!
Y ou can do this with most units by putting a character on horse etc in an infantry, its a common tourny tactic.
crimson skull is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer Fantasy Battles & Age of Sigmar > Warhammer Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome