Over-run! Into a fleeing unit. - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Warhammer Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer Fantasy rules queries here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-03-13, 10:57 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Silens's Avatar
Silens's Flag is: Wales
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,662
Reputation: 17
Default Over-run! Into a fleeing unit.

So today I had a game of Fantasy with two friends and my girlfriend and due to some nasty casualties, two High Elf units were fleeing pretty much side-by-side. I charged into the flank of one of these with a single Daemonette and the rules were pretty clear here that the unit gets wiped out. Seemed a bit overkill, but alright... We then followed the rules for over-running and my Daemonette kept going. Straight into the next fleeing unit. Is this considered also charging the fleeing unit? The way we played it is that the daemonette destroyed both fleeing units and also moved a total of a ridiculous 2-3 feet that turn. It was quite funny, but seems stupidly OP... Especially for 1 Daemonette.

Originally Posted by Nordicus View Post
Silens is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-04-13, 12:49 AM
Senior Member
DivineEdge's Avatar
DivineEdge's Flag is: USA
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 495
Reputation: 13

Not from the way I'm reading what you posted...

I'm no rules guru, but the only time a unit gets completely removed is when the unit that beats it in combat rolls higher then it on the 2d6 overrun/flee roll. They should've just gotten into combat again, since I assume they were fleeing from a previous turn.

The daemonettes only should've been allowed to overrun if there was an unfought combat remaining.

My tactics articles, if you need help making a new army, or beating one:

High Elves - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=112437

Tyranids - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=118886

New Warriors of Chaos - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...=1#post1336092

I have a new theory in life - for everything - from ethics to legal cases - it is called pre-emptive self defense.
DivineEdge is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-04-13, 02:08 AM
Senior Member
Creon's Avatar
Creon's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,166
Reputation: 16

It should have gone this way:

1) Deamonettes Charge Fleeing unit.
2) Target unit MUST declare a FLEE reaction. Rolls it's flee distance.
3) Charging unit may Choose to redirect or continue the charge.
4) If he continues the charge, and manages to reach the fleeing unit, the unit is destroyed.
5) If you redirect into the 2nd fleeing unit, it must declare a FLEE reaction.
6) If the roll is not good, you can destroy the unit you redirected to. But there's no way to destroy both units.
Creon is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-15-13, 02:56 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Reputation: 1

ok, not to make things extra complicated...

Say I charge the first unit that flees, I decide to continue the charge.
If the unit gets away, or if I catch it, what happens if I roll high enough to get in contact with the second (also fleeing) unit?
Does that one get destroyed automatically? can it also declare a charge reaction (altho it is not actually charged...

Ardecay is offline  

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer Fantasy Battles & Age of Sigmar > Warhammer Rules Discussion

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome