Swordmasters and Always Strikes Last - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Warhammer Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer Fantasy rules queries here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-25-13, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
Member
jeep3rs's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Near Toronto, ON, CA
Posts: 50
Reputation: 1
Default Swordmasters and Always Strikes Last

No, this isn't the usual question about SoA and ASF. I know that it works with great weapons.

However,

If my opponent uses an ability that gives my Swordmasters the always strikes last special rule (in this case that Ogre mammoth thing), it and Speed of Asuryan would cancel eachother out, right?

If this is the case, would I strike last due to having a great weapon?

Thanks!
jeep3rs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-25-13, 09:41 PM
Senior Member
 
effigy22's Avatar
effigy22's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Basingrad, UK
Posts: 1,375
Reputation: 6
Default

Depends on the wording of the rule that gives always strikes last. If it read "replaces always strikes first with" or "always strikes last even if *enter vague rule*" then you always strike last.

However if it reads "models gain the always strike last rule" then all that happens is they cancel eachother out and you strike at intiative order.
did that make sense? Hope so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svartmetall View Post
Don't, after rolling that final 1 too many, flip out, climb up on the table and jump up and down on your opponent's models screaming 'APOCALYPTIC BARRAGE, MOTHERFUCKER!!!'.
effigy22 is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-25-13, 10:31 PM
Senior Member
 
DivineEdge's Avatar
DivineEdge's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 495
Reputation: 13
Default

I assume you mean the Thundertusk's Aura of Frost? That will give white lions and swordmasters ASL.


Speed of Asuryan gives ASF regardless of what weapon the model has. But not form any source. The ASF from SoA and the ASL from the Thundertusk cancel out, leaving ASL from the great weapons. Having said that, I say they are ASL. Does my explanation make sense?

My tactics articles, if you need help making a new army, or beating one:

High Elves - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=112437

Tyranids - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=118886

New Warriors of Chaos - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...=1#post1336092


I have a new theory in life - for everything - from ethics to legal cases - it is called pre-emptive self defense.
DivineEdge is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-26-13, 08:46 AM
Senior Member
 
effigy22's Avatar
effigy22's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Basingrad, UK
Posts: 1,375
Reputation: 6
Default

Divine, not quite, ASF and ASL do not stack like extra attack rule. So you can suffer ASF and ASL from 3 different sources and as long as not one of them say "replace ASF with" then all they do is cancel eachother out and you strike at initiative order.

I see where your coming from though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svartmetall View Post
Don't, after rolling that final 1 too many, flip out, climb up on the table and jump up and down on your opponent's models screaming 'APOCALYPTIC BARRAGE, MOTHERFUCKER!!!'.
effigy22 is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-26-13, 09:45 AM
Member
Mr. Black Orc's Flag is: Sweden
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 49
Reputation: 1
Default

Straight on the point Effigy.
Mr. Black Orc is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-15-13, 02:48 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Reputation: 1
Default

how does that make sense?

The SoA gives Asf regardless the weapon type.
than the Asl aura negates the Asf.
You mean they still strike on I even tho they have great weapons?

is there a FAQ or Errata that has been written about this that we can refer to?
Ardecay is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-15-13, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
effigy22's Avatar
effigy22's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Basingrad, UK
Posts: 1,375
Reputation: 6
Default

BRB FAQ:
Page 66 – Special Rules, What Special Rules Does It Have.
Change “[...]the effects of multiple special rules[...]” to
“[...]the effects of different special rules[...]”Add “However,
unless otherwise stated, a model gains no additional benefit
from having the same special rule multiple times.” to the end of
the first paragraph.

The only special rules rules that stack are the "Extra Attack" and "Fight in Additional Rank" special rules (which is apart of the same FAQ).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svartmetall View Post
Don't, after rolling that final 1 too many, flip out, climb up on the table and jump up and down on your opponent's models screaming 'APOCALYPTIC BARRAGE, MOTHERFUCKER!!!'.
effigy22 is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-18-13, 06:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 91
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DivineEdge View Post
I assume you mean the Thundertusk's Aura of Frost? That will give white lions and swordmasters ASL.


Speed of Asuryan gives ASF regardless of what weapon the model has. But not form any source. The ASF from SoA and the ASL from the Thundertusk cancel out, leaving ASL from the great weapons. Having said that, I say they are ASL. Does my explanation make sense?
I agree with your logic. ASF + ASL (Great Weapon) + ASL (Aura of Frost) = ASL
Hasnat is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-19-13, 02:11 PM
Senior Member
 
effigy22's Avatar
effigy22's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Basingrad, UK
Posts: 1,375
Reputation: 6
Default

But unless the the rule specifically states it replaces another rule, all they do is cancel each other out.

A good example of this is corpse carts and zombie. If you were to caste time warp on zombies they strike at iniative order. But because the corpse cart rule states "replaces always strikes last with always strike first" they actually gain the benefit.

Unfortunately logic doesn't always win.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svartmetall View Post
Don't, after rolling that final 1 too many, flip out, climb up on the table and jump up and down on your opponent's models screaming 'APOCALYPTIC BARRAGE, MOTHERFUCKER!!!'.
effigy22 is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-19-13, 02:25 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hasnat View Post
I agree with your logic. ASF + ASL (Great Weapon) + ASL (Aura of Frost) = ASL
The problem is that

ASL + ASL = ASL not 2ASL

So ASL + ASL + ASF = ASL + ASF = 0
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer Fantasy Battles & Age of Sigmar > Warhammer Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome