Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Indeed, the SMs don't have 2 lots of ASL... they never get ASL from their great weapons because while they may lose the ASF from the Speed of Asuryan they don't lose that rule.
But that makes no difference anyway.
EVEN if they did have ASL from their great weapons as well as the thundertusk it makes no matter because they would still have ASF and the rules clearly say that if you have both rules you strike at initiative order.
Its not a matter of the first ASL cancelling with the ASF leaving 1 case of ASL. They have ASL, they have ASF (multiple instances of these rules don't stack as only Extra Attack does that) and so they cancel leaving nothing.
EDIT- maths fail there Dave... brackets make no difference with addition. The only way to look at this matematically would be something like this:
aASL + bASF = 0 where a and b are any non zero positive integers ... which is beginning to get silly.
The best real world equivalent to this would be lunch: if I have both a loaf bread and a pack of ham then I can make a sandwich. Doesn't matter how many loaves of bread or packs of ham I have because the only thing that matters is that I have both... not the amount.
Last edited by Tim/Steve; 04-21-13 at 10:51 AM.