=][= Rumours Roundup : Dark Eldar - Released - Page 101 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Wargaming News and 40k Rumors Discuss and share wargaming news, new releases, warhammer and 40k rumors here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1001 of 1264 (permalink) Old 10-17-10, 04:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Winterous's Avatar
Winterous's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 6,851
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOfCheese View Post
Weapons that SPECIFICALLY state that they ignore armour, or are strength double toughness.
This does NOT include AP-values.
The only AP values that ignore FNP is AP1 and AP2.
This.
Only attacks which NEVER allow Armour Saves, no matter what it is, negate FNP (except the double thing).
Winterous is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1002 of 1264 (permalink) Old 10-17-10, 04:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Wolf_Lord_Skoll's Avatar
Wolf_Lord_Skoll's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,461
Reputation: 1
Default

Hmmm, I want 5 Beastmasters each with two Razorwing Flocks. 54 wounds that can dish out 60 I5 WS4 Rending attacks on the charge ^_^

EDIT: Now my turn for a question or two. Can Haemonculii/Ancient take a Phantasm Grenade Launcher? Also, can a standard Haemonculii take artefacts?

Last edited by Wolf_Lord_Skoll; 10-17-10 at 06:04 AM.
Wolf_Lord_Skoll is offline  
post #1003 of 1264 (permalink) Old 10-17-10, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
H0RRIDF0RM's Avatar
H0RRIDF0RM's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bridgeport Connectict US
Posts: 761
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clever handle View Post
The pain tokens earned "in-game" by dark eldar units are split "randomly" between all units involved in the combat (this includes IC's). You do not get to choose who claims them.
No it states that you must try to divide them evenly.
H0RRIDF0RM is offline  
 
post #1004 of 1264 (permalink) Old 10-17-10, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Wolf_Lord_Skoll's Avatar
Wolf_Lord_Skoll's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,461
Reputation: 1
Default

Oh, and I have a third question haha. What happens if a Beastmaster dies in his unit? Like, are the beasts he controls effected in any way?
Wolf_Lord_Skoll is offline  
post #1005 of 1264 (permalink) Old 10-17-10, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
Katie Drake's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,539
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf_Lord_Skoll View Post
Hmmm, I want 5 Beastmasters each with two Razorwing Flocks. 54 wounds that can dish out 60 I5 WS4 Rending attacks on the charge ^_^

EDIT: Now my turn for a question or two. Can Haemonculii/Ancient take a Phantasm Grenade Launcher? Also, can a standard Haemonculii take artefacts?
No and yes if by artifacts you mean Arcane Wargear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf_Lord_Skoll View Post
Oh, and I have a third question haha. What happens if a Beastmaster dies in his unit? Like, are the beasts he controls effected in any way?
No, though they all have very low Leadership, so they'll be driven off fairly easily.
Katie Drake is offline  
post #1006 of 1264 (permalink) Old 10-17-10, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Wolf_Lord_Skoll's Avatar
Wolf_Lord_Skoll's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,461
Reputation: 1
Default

Shame about the Phantasm Launchers. Ah well. Here's a quick 1750 list I've been thinking about, it seems pretty solid for a Hybrid list. I don't plan on getting Dark Eldar, but I always like to have a fiddle with new Codicies to get the feel for them. What does everyone else think of the listi in general?

Haemonculus w/ Crucible of Malediction
Haemonculus

10x Warriors w/ 2x Dark Lances
Raider w/ Flicker Field and Enhanced Aethersail

10x Warriors w/ 2x Splinter Cannons
Raider w/ Flicker Field, Splinter Rack and Enhanced Aethersail

10x Warriors w/ 2x Splinter Cannons
Raider w/ Flicker Field, Splinter Rack and Enhanced Aethersail

8x Wracks

8x Wracks

5x Beastmasters
10x Voidwing Flocks

5x Beastmasters
10x Voidwing Flocks

Ravager w/ Flickerfield
Ravager w/ Flickerfield
Voidraven w/ Flickerfield and 4 Scattershard Missiles
Wolf_Lord_Skoll is offline  
post #1007 of 1264 (permalink) Old 10-17-10, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
ChaosRedCorsairLord's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,007
Reputation: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf_Lord_Skoll View Post
10x Warriors w/ 2x Dark Lances
Raider w/ Flicker Field and Enhanced Aethersail
Isn't it 1 heavy weapon per 10 warriors? Chuck in a blaster instead.


Anyway, I'm gonna give all my raiders the ram and aethersail upgrade and just throw them at my enemy's vehicles at the start of the game (not literally), for the shear hilarity of it. Eat soggy cardboard spess mahreens!

When I was a young boy, I dreamed of being a baseball...
ChaosRedCorsairLord is offline  
post #1008 of 1264 (permalink) Old 10-17-10, 01:34 PM Thread Starter
Banned
MadCowCrazy's Flag is: Aaland
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Burning Depths of Hell
Posts: 2,452
Reputation: 11
Default

About FNP and how awesome it is.

Lets use Wyches since they are likely to need it the most.

You assault 30 orks with 10 Wyches who have all 3 token upgrades (FNP, FC and Fearless).
Wyches
Attacks: 20
Hit Chance: 50%
Hits: 10
Wound Chance: 50%
Wounds: 5
Saved Wounds: 0.833
Unsaved Wounds: 4.167
Models Killed: 4.167

So you managed to kill 4 orks with 10 basic Wyches with 3 pain tokens. So 26 orks hit back.

Orks
Attacks: 78
Hit Chance: 50%
Hits: 39
Wound Chance: 66.67%
Wounds: 26
Saved Wounds: 13
Feel No Pain Saves: 6.5
Unsaved Wounds: 6.5
Models Killed: 6.5

So they kill 6 of your Wyches with 26 ork and you lose combat by 2 which means 2 fearless saves resulting in 1 more dead Wych. This leaves you with 3 Wyches still alive.

Its all down to the dice gods but as you can see statistically you should have survived the combat. Without FNP you would have died taking 13 wounds. So now those 26 remaining orks are stuck in combat in your opponents turn and will ofc win but this leaves them open to a shooting attack from you on your turn.
MadCowCrazy is offline  
post #1009 of 1264 (permalink) Old 10-17-10, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Winterous's Avatar
Winterous's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 6,851
Reputation: 2
Default

Madcow, you seem to have several things wrong there.
First of all, are Wyches only WS4??

The Wyches are assaulting the Orks, not the other way around.
The Wyches have 1 attack base, +1 for two weapons, and +1 for charging, so 30 attacks total, not 20.
You didn't factor in their pistols, which, well, I suppose they could have Fleeted.
And don't the Wyches have some crazy rules in CC?

The Orks, attacking back, only have Strength 3 when they don't charge, so they're wounding 50%, rather than 66%.

So basically, there should be 6.something dead Orks, and SIGNIFICANTLY fewer Wych casualties.
Winterous is offline  
post #1010 of 1264 (permalink) Old 10-17-10, 01:49 PM
Moderator
 
KingOfCheese's Avatar
KingOfCheese's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 4,491
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winterous View Post
Madcow, you seem to have several things wrong there.
First of all, are Wyches only WS4??

The Wyches are assaulting the Orks, not the other way around.
The Wyches have 1 attack base, +1 for two weapons, and +1 for charging, so 30 attacks total, not 20.
You didn't factor in their pistols, which, well, I suppose they could have Fleeted.
And don't the Wyches have some crazy rules in CC?

The Orks, attacking back, only have Strength 3 when they don't charge, so they're wounding 50%, rather than 66%.

So basically, there should be 6.something dead Orks, and SIGNIFICANTLY fewer Wych casualties.
IF the Wyches get the charge.

And plus, working out mathhammer in a vacuum is always a bad idea.
There are so many other variables in the game that you have to take into account.

What if there is a bigger threat on the board?
What if their transport gets shot?
What if the Orks have a transport?
What if the Orks have FNP?
Take into account the Power Klaw too?


KingOfCheese is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Wargaming News, New Releases and Information > Wargaming News and 40k Rumors

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome