Hot from the forges of the Iron Priests, we bring you the new draft FAQ for Codex: Space Wolves.
We've also included a new optional rule for your Dreadnoughts, so the ancients of the Fang can match their more Codex-compliant cousins blow for blow.
Now it's over to you guys. Here’s what you need to do:
– Read through these draft FAQs
– If you think any answers need clarification, post up a comment on the relevant image
– Make sure your question is concisely written, and in plain English
Do the answers all make sense? Are they clear? Do they throw up any more potential issues?
(We’re looking primarily for whether you understand them, rather than if you like the answer.)
You have a week to get your comments in, then we’ll pass them on to the rules guys for the final FAQs.
We’ll be posting more FAQ drafts for feedback over the new few weeks, so if you’re eagerly awaiting the one for your codex, don’t worry, we’re on it.
Finally, we wanted to say thanks again to all of you who sent in our questions, to help make this game we all love even better.
Here’s a link to the Codex itself:
Q: For all models that can ride Thunderwolves (including Thunderwolf Cavalry and Wolf Lords on Thunderwolves), is the Strength bonus from the Thunderwolf applied before or after multiplying the user’s Strength by 2 for the purposes of weapons like power fists and thunder hammers?
A: The model’s Strength profile is improved by 1 for riding a Thunderwolf. This is not a modified profile, but is instead the model’s new profile (as demonstrated by the Thunderwolf Cavalry profile). As wielding a power fist or thunder hammer doubles the Strength characteristic on the model’s profile before any other modifiers are applied, this will mean the model’s Strength of 5 is doubled to 10.
Q: How do you resolve the effects of Helfrost weapons against Necrons for the purposes of their Reanimation Protocol special rule, as they technically happen simultaneously?
A: The Sequencing section from Warhammer 40,000: The Rules cover cases where two or more rules are to be resolved at the same time and the wording is not explicit as to which rule is resolved first – the player whose turn it is chooses the order.
Q: When the Rune Priest is upgraded to wear Terminator armour, he trades in his bolt pistol, but he doesn’t automatically get a storm bolter. The entry then says that he ‘may take one of the following’. What happens if he chooses not to take a storm bolter?
A: Then he will simply have no ranged weapon. This is to cater for the Librarian Terminator model, which can be assembled either with an outstretched hand or a storm bolter; the same options therefore apply to Librarians in Codex: Space Marines.
Q: In the Champions of Fenris supplement, the Armor of Asvald Stormwrack relic is not listed as Terminator armour in the rules and does not cause weapons to change to Terminator weapons, even though it has the same rules as Terminator armour. Does this mean a character wearing the Armour of Asvald Stormwrack can ride a Thunderwolf?
A: It is effectively Terminator armour, so no, a model wearing the Armour of Asvald Stormwrack cannot ride a Thunderwolf.
Q: How do you resolve a special rule or an item of wargear that makes you automatically pass a test against another special rule or item of wargear that makes you automatically fail? For example, the Pelt of Balewolf causes certain models to automatically fail their Fear tests, yet models with the Daemonic Instability special rule automatically pass these tests.
A: The two rules effectively cancel each other out. In the case of the Pelt of Balewolf, a model with the Daemonic Instability special rule would therefore have to take a standard Fear test.
Q: When using the Wolf Guard Thunderstrike Formation from the Champions of Fenris supplement, if the Drop Pod is the only Drop Pod in your army, how does that work with regards to the Drop Pod Assault special rule?
A: Ignore the Drop Pod Assault special rule for the Drop Pod from the Wolf Guard Thunderstrike Formation.
Q: Do Iron Priests have the HQ or Elite Battlefield Role, and which profile should I use – the version in Codex: Space Wolves or the version in War Zone Fenris: Curse of the Wulfen?
A: There are two different Iron Priest options at present, and you should feel free to use either or both in your army. One is an Elites choice, which uses all of the rules described in Codex: Space Wolves, whilst the version in White Dwarf and War Zone Fenris: Curse of the Wulfen is obviously a more senior version, with an improved profile and weapon options, hence the reason he is an HQ choice and has a higher points cost.
Q: When rolling for the Curse of the Wulfen special rule, do you roll just one dice for all Wulfen units in your army, or one dice per unit?
A: Roll one dice to determine the effect of the Curse of the Wulfen for all units of Wulfen in your army.
Q: For the Ancients of the Fang Formation in War Zone Fenris: Curse of the Wulfen, can the Dreadnoughts still purchase transports?
Q: If an Independent Character joins a unit of Wulfen, are they affected by the Curse of the Wulfen?
A: The Independent Character is affected by the Curse of the Wulfen special rule as normal; only the Wulfen themselves are unaffected.
Q: The Wulfen’s Death Frenzy special rule begins with the wording ‘If a model in this unit is slain…’ – does that mean that an Independent Character that has joined the unit also benefits from this rule?
Q: If Wulfen are removed from play in the Assault phase, by special attacks such as Stomp or some other effect, do they still get to strike back as part of their Death Frenzy special rule?
A: Yes. The slain Wulfen model strikes back at the end of the Initiative step in which it was slain. For example, in the case of a Hammer of Wrath attack, which is resolved at Initiative step 10, the Wulfen strikes back at the end of Initiative step 10; in the case of a Stomp attack, which is resolved at Initiative step 1, the Wulfen strikes back at the end of Initiative step 1.
Q: Which relic lists can Space Wolves characters choose from when they are part of a Wolf Claw Strike Force Detachment from War Zone Fenris: Curse of the Wulfen?
A: They must use the Relics of the Fang from Codex: Space Wolves. However, if you wish, a Wolf Guard Battle Leader from the Champions of Fenris Formation from War Zone Fenris: Curse of the Wulfen can instead choose a single Relic of the Great Wolf from Champions of Fenris.
Q: Can a Wulfen wielding a thunder hammer make a Death Frenzy attack at the end of an Initiative step that would result in him attacking before other models with a higher Initiative than his modified Initiative of 1 (for using a weapon with the Unwieldy special rule)?
Q: Can each member of the Heralds of the Great Wolf Formation ignore their first failed saving throw each turn or is it just first model in the Formation to fail their save each turn? What about any Cyberwolves accompanying the Formation's Iron Priest?
A: Provided that the Formation's Iron Priest is still alive, the Formation's Wolf Priest, Rune Priest and Iron Priest can each ignore their first failed saving throw each turn. This does not apply to any accompanying Cyberwolves.
Q: If an Independent Character joins a unit of Wulfen, do the Wulfen models still get to use the Bounding Lope rule?
A: Yes, but the Independent Character does not benefit, and all models in the unit must maintain unit coherency.
Q: When fielding a Spear of Russ Formation, can a Vindicator use the Power of the Machine Spirit to fire its demolisher cannon twice in the same Shooting phase?
A: No. Power of the Machine Spirit allows a vehicle to fire an additional weapon – one not fired already – not to fire a weapon for the second time.
Q: I have my Wolf Claw Strike Force, and I also pick a Combined Arms Detachment. If an Independent Character from the Combined Arms Detachment joins one of the units from the Wolf Claw Strike Force, does he get the Counter-charge special rule as well, or does the whole unit lose the Counter-charge special rule because the Independent Character in question is not part of the Wolf Claw Strike Force?
A: The attached character does not benefit, but nor does he prevent the unit he is attached to from doing so, provided that all models in the unit (including the Independent Character) maintain unit coherency.
Q: If Logan Grimnar is riding Stormrider and it gets destroyed, does he die with it or can he fight on as an Independent Character on foot?
A: If Stormrider is destroyed, Logan Grimnar is slain as well.
Q: As far as rules are concerned, what kind of armour do Wulfen wear?
A: Wulfen wear armour over their black carapace that has been customised according to their unique physiology, but it offers them no in-game effect beyond a standard 4+ armour save.
Q: If a unit of Wulfen is embarked in a vehicle or building, does their Curse of the Wulfen special rule affect units within range as normal?
A: No. Do not count units of Wulfen that are embarked at the start of the turn for the purposes of the Curse of the Wulfen special rule.
Q: Suppose a Wolf Claw Strike Force has the first turn and lands multiple Drop Pods amongst the enemy lines. If an enemy unit then charges a Space Wolves unit that has just disembarked from their Drop Pod, can another unit from the same Wolf Claw Strike Force use their Counter-charge ability during the enemy Assault phase to charge, even though they had disembarked from a Drop Pod in their first turn?
Q: Should the helfrost pistol and tempest hammer be added to the Space Wolves wargear lists, or are they unique to the Iron Priest from War Zone Fenris: Curse of the Wulfen?
A: These items are unique to the version of the Iron Priest with the HQ Battlefield Role from White Dwarf and War Zone Fenris: Curse of the Wulfen.
Q: For the Deathpack Formation that comes in the Start Collecting! Space Wolves box, you have a Wolf Lord, 10 Grey Hunters, and 3 Thunderwolf Cavalry. Can you expand this Formation by adding another squad of Grey Hunters and more Thunderwolf Cavalry?
A: The Formation limits you to 1 Wolf Lord, 1 unit of Grey Hunters, and 1 unit of Thunderwolf Cavalry; you cannot add any further units to this Formation. A unit of Grey Hunters can have a maximum of 10 models, so you cannot add any more of them, while a unit of Thunderwolf Cavalry can have a maximum of six models, so you may add three more Thunderwolf Cavalry models to the Formation as part of that unit.
Q: If an Independent Character joins a unit from a Space Wolves Deathpack Formation, can they still benefit from the For Glory, For Russ! special rule (for example, Run and then still be able to charge in the same turn)?
A: The attached character does not benefit, but nor does he prevent the unit he is attached to from doing so, provided that all models in the unit (including the Independent Character) maintain unit coherency at all times.
WAR ZONE FENRIS: CURSE OF THE WULFEN
Page 37 – The Ironwolves, Restrictions
Add the following sentence to the end of the paragraph:
‘However, ignore units of Wolf Scouts and Lone Wolves for the purposes of these Restrictions.’
Q. How many Attacks do Blood Angels, Grey Knights and Space Wolves Dreadnoughts have? Is it 2 (or on their profile) or 4 to match those in Codex: Space Marines.
A. 2, as per their profile.
Designers Note: During our FAQ question session, quite a lot of you got in touch to ask about Dreadnought attacks. In our earlier books, most Dreadnoughts had 2 attacks on their profile. Recently, it was felt that Dreadnoughts just weren't punching at their weight, so in the more recent Codex: Dark Angels and Codex: Space Marines, this was increased to 4. This has lead to a discrepancy between the same unit in different books.
The Codexes remain the official source for rules on any any given army, so these remain the official characteristics until such a time as they are updated. However, we recommend having a chat with your opponent about using this optional house-rule in your own games:
Roused to War: This rule applies to all Dreadnought Datasheets (of any type) found in Codex: Blood Angels, Codex: Space Wolves or Codex: Grey Knights. Increase the model's Attacks by 2.