Warhammer 40,000 FAQ DRAFT online for feedback - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Wargaming News and 40k Rumors Discuss and share wargaming news, new releases, warhammer and 40k rumors here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-04-16, 05:29 PM Thread Starter
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default Warhammer 40,000 FAQ DRAFT online for feedback

I almost fell out of my chair when I saw this on Facebook. It seems the GW 40k page is looking for feedback in the FAQ document they're working on for the core rules (and based on some comments it seems similar projects will be occuring for other books, one book at a time):

Quote:
Hey everyone,
Our rules guys have the first of the Warhammer 40,000 FAQ drafts for you guys to feed back on.
We got so many questions for this game, that we’re going to be asking for feedback on the answers one book at a time. We’re starting with the big one: the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.
Do the answers all make sense? Are they clear?
(We’re looking for whether you understand them rather than if you like the answer.)
Here’s what you need to do
- Read through this draft FAQ
- If you think any answers need clarification, post up a comment on the relevant image
- Make sure your question is concisely written, and in plain English
We’ll leave these up for a week, then we’ll pass on your comments to the rules guys for the final FAQs.
We’ll be posting more FAQ drafts for feedback over the new few weeks for our Warhammer 40,000 Codex titles.
Finally, we wanted to say thanks again to all of you who sent in our questions, to help make this game well all love even better.
If you are at all unsure, this is the Warhammer 40,000 title this FAQ is for.
https://www.games-workshop.com/en-US...estid=31693560
Now of course the Facebook thread is here: https://www.facebook.com/permalink.p...75682476085719 but I'm not one to leave you guys hanging. Here are the pages from the FAQ Draft for your perusal:

Quote:








































Zion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-04-16, 07:36 PM
The Emperor Protects
 
Angel of Blood's Avatar
Angel of Blood's Flag is: Wales
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,262
Reputation: 41
Default

Smashfucker is no more.
Angel of Blood is offline  
post #3 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-04-16, 08:07 PM Thread Starter
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel of Blood View Post
Smashfucker is no more.
Which is for the best honestly.
Zion is offline  
 
post #4 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-04-16, 08:19 PM
Grand Lord Munchkin
 
gen.ahab's Avatar
gen.ahab's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ivins, Utah, USA
Posts: 7,044
Reputation: 17
Default

Hah! Arjac Void-Bros is a go.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

The Website kept telling me that my profile was only 80% complete without creating a signature. Ain't no website going to tell me I was a lazy shit, no sir.
gen.ahab is offline  
post #5 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-04-16, 08:37 PM
The Emperor Protects
 
Angel of Blood's Avatar
Angel of Blood's Flag is: Wales
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,262
Reputation: 41
Default

I like the battle brothers not being able to use allied transports. Drop pod purifiers can finally fuck off.
Angel of Blood is offline  
post #6 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-04-16, 08:40 PM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

FAQ first draft, otherwise known as 40k Except For Dark Eldar Is Saved

Dark Eldar get a blunderbuss to the face all over again, but everyone else? This is awesome. Battle Brothers can't use each other's transports, Psykers can't cast more than their Mastery (fuck you, Librarius!), Characters get the Detachment rules if they join a unit - basically everything I wanted answered is in here answered the way I want (while Dark Eldar are going to take a fairly big hit from not being able to have Power Armour on all their transports all the time, they can still use regular cover, and that rule where you can Jink all the way to the bank and back shooting as you go was a fucking hack and I hated it).

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #7 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-04-16, 09:34 PM Thread Starter
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel of Blood View Post
I like the battle brothers not being able to use allied transports. Drop pod purifiers can finally fuck off.
Drop Pod Sisters are sad though.

Edit: so yeah, unless the Sororitas codex gets some thing massive later I don't expect much help for them from this.

Last edited by Zion; 05-04-16 at 09:40 PM.
Zion is offline  
post #8 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-04-16, 09:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Shandathe's Avatar
Shandathe's Flag is: Netherlands
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 14
Default

I don't see it on the Transports picture, where is the Battle Brothers transports bit?

And while questions are being asked, anyone know if you roll the D6 for Exorcist shots before or after you declare a shooting target?

Ask not the Eldar a question, for they will give you three answers; all of which are true and horrifying to know.
Shandathe is offline  
post #9 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-04-16, 10:50 PM Thread Starter
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shandathe View Post
I don't see it on the Transports picture, where is the Battle Brothers transports bit?

And while questions are being asked, anyone know if you roll the D6 for Exorcist shots before or after you declare a shooting target?
Last question of "Allies and Formations" had the BB transport question.

And I've always chosena target and then rolled as without a target you can't resolve the profile.
Zion is offline  
post #10 of 69 (permalink) Old 05-04-16, 10:56 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Q: Do blast weapons, regardless of size or type, now hit all models at all height levels under the template? And if so, is intervening terrain (such as bridges or floors) ignored when determining how many hits are caused?
A: A blast marker or template affects all models underneath it, including those on different levels of a piece of scenery. (Designer’s Note: Earlier versions of this rule restricted the effect of blast markers and templates to models on ‘a single level’ of scenery. This created problems with scenery that didn’t have strictly definable ‘levels’ and we decided on this change for simplicity. In addition, we feel the rules now better reflect the explosions being three-dimensional (i.e. spherical and not circular) as well as better representing the deadliness of weapons such a flamers when used in confined spaces.

....interesting...

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Wargaming News, New Releases and Information > Wargaming News and 40k Rumors

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome