Codex: Khorne Daemonkin - Page 9 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Wargaming News and 40k Rumors Discuss and share wargaming news, new releases, warhammer and 40k rumors here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #81 of 278 (permalink) Old 03-18-15, 08:52 PM Thread Starter
JUGGERNUT
 
venomlust's Avatar
venomlust's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,558
Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuiltySparc View Post
cliff notes on strength D? Thats not ringing a bell in my (limited) rule book knowledge.
Destroyer weapons.

Essentially, it is a strength of weapon in a class of its own. Armor saves can't be taken against strength D, but invuln and cover saves can, when applicable. Instead of rolling to wound, you roll a d6 on the D table:

1: no effect, on vehicles or non-vehicles

2-5: vs vehicles inflicts a penetrating hit that takes away d3 hull points instead of 1
vs. non-vehicles they lose d3 wounds instead of 1

6: vs. vehicles causes a penetrating hit that inflicts d6+6 hull points instead of 1, no saves of any kind are allowed (including invulns etc.)
vs. non-vehicles it causes d6+6 wounds with no saves of any kind allowed.


The catch is that (if I understand correctly) that wounds generated by the d6 table don't transfer over to the rest of the target unit. So you roll however many hits you got 1 by 1 on the D table to determine the effects on models, not the entire unit.


SUFFER NOT THE PONY TO LIVE.

- - AMATEUR KHORNESTAR: MY BLOG THING - -

Last edited by venomlust; 03-18-15 at 09:02 PM.
venomlust is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #82 of 278 (permalink) Old 03-18-15, 08:58 PM
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuiltySparc View Post
cliff notes on strength D? Thats not ringing a bell in my (limited) rule book knowledge.
It's in the core rulebook. Basically instead of rolling to wound or pen you roll on a chart that looks like this:

Vehicle or Building
1 model is unharmed
2-5 model suffers d3 hull points
6 model suffers d6+6 hull points. No saves of any kind allowed

Non-Vehicle
1 model is unharmed
2-5 model suffers d3 wounds
6 model suffers d6+6 wounds. No saves of any kind allowed
Zion is offline  
post #83 of 278 (permalink) Old 03-18-15, 10:05 PM
Senior Member
GuiltySparc's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 166
Reputation: 7
Default

well that sounds pretty excellent.
GuiltySparc is offline  
 
post #84 of 278 (permalink) Old 03-18-15, 10:36 PM Thread Starter
JUGGERNUT
 
venomlust's Avatar
venomlust's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,558
Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuiltySparc View Post
well that sounds pretty excellent.
It certainly can be. 3+ invulns sort of make a mockery of strength D, it seems, unless you get lucky and roll a 6. Good thing the Bloodthirster has so many attacks!


SUFFER NOT THE PONY TO LIVE.

- - AMATEUR KHORNESTAR: MY BLOG THING - -
venomlust is offline  
post #85 of 278 (permalink) Old 03-18-15, 11:49 PM
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by venomlust View Post
It certainly can be. 3+ invulns sort of make a mockery of strength D, it seems, unless you get lucky and roll a 6. Good thing the Bloodthirster has so many attacks!
6 base, 8 on the charge (I see what you did there GW).
Zion is offline  
post #86 of 278 (permalink) Old 03-19-15, 12:40 AM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

If I use my Strength D weapon and use my USR 'Smash' and choose to make 1 attack at 2X my S, do I get Double D's... cos I think that is more Slaanesh's thing
mayegelt is offline  
post #87 of 278 (permalink) Old 03-19-15, 01:01 AM Thread Starter
JUGGERNUT
 
venomlust's Avatar
venomlust's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,558
Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zion View Post
6 base, 8 on the charge (I see what you did there GW).
That just sounds so freakin' awesome. It's not as if I even fight Knight titans, like, ever. I am going to split my buddy's SM Chapter Master like kindling. Shield Eternal be damned, I'm gonna roll a 6 sooner or later.


SUFFER NOT THE PONY TO LIVE.

- - AMATEUR KHORNESTAR: MY BLOG THING - -
venomlust is offline  
post #88 of 278 (permalink) Old 03-19-15, 01:08 AM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

Well, Fiends can drag a Knight down to attacking simultaneously with an Insensate Rage. That's not half bad, since the Knight ain't walking away, and it only hits on 5s... you're still probably gonna die without Invisibility and/or Grimoire on, though. And may well with those on.

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #89 of 278 (permalink) Old 03-19-15, 01:46 AM Thread Starter
JUGGERNUT
 
venomlust's Avatar
venomlust's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,558
Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
Well, Fiends can drag a Knight down to attacking simultaneously with an Insensate Rage. That's not half bad, since the Knight ain't walking away, and it only hits on 5s... you're still probably gonna die without Invisibility and/or Grimoire on, though. And may well with those on.
Well, it's an option that at least has the chance of surviving the encounter. But you're right, probably more likely to die. Most likely due to stomps, I'd guess. Or the subsequent explosion.


SUFFER NOT THE PONY TO LIVE.

- - AMATEUR KHORNESTAR: MY BLOG THING - -
venomlust is offline  
post #90 of 278 (permalink) Old 03-19-15, 04:01 AM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by venomlust View Post
Well, it's an option that at least has the chance of surviving the encounter. But you're right, probably more likely to die. Most likely due to stomps, I'd guess. Or the subsequent explosion.
Still an even swap, roughly, points wise. You come out more ahead if you haven't bought it, say, 2 Greater Rewards... and if they rest of your list just plain can't deal with a lone Knight, so much the better. Hah, if you can get a summoned Insensate Rage via units lost Blood Points...

Fielding 3 Insensate Rages, though, to take on an Adamantine Lance... plus, well, Be'lakor to give them a Shrouded-bubble--that could get expensive faaaaast. Money and points wise. And you'd run into limit Fiend issues.

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Wargaming News, New Releases and Information > Wargaming News and 40k Rumors

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome