Necrons 7th edition - Page 15 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Wargaming News and 40k Rumors Discuss and share wargaming news, new releases, warhammer and 40k rumors here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #141 of 143 (permalink) Old 02-01-15, 09:25 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcoso View Post
Although tomb blades are considerably better in the new book, and I would happily take them over immortals any day
Except Tomb Blades are FA and Immortals are Troops, fulfilling different roles within your FOC. I would've been completely fine with a compulsory 1 HQ, 2 Troops, 1 FA Detachment...I love my Scarabs!

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcoso View Post
when in fact a cryptek is practically irrelevant in a decurion (though totally worth it in any other detachment)
There is worth. His extra bonus to RPs keeps them rolling at 4+ when wounded by Instant Death weapons, which otherwise reduce RP rolls by 1. It took me a while to figure out why they said bonuses were cumulative but can never increase past 4+, this is at least one example of why the +2 bonus is nice.

EDIT: I have this wrong. Instant Death is a -1 modifier to your dice after they roll for RP, not to the RP roll. I'm still trying to figure out why RP bonuses are cumulative...

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP

Last edited by ntaw; 02-01-15 at 09:29 PM.
ntaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #142 of 143 (permalink) Old 02-02-15, 09:28 PM
Senior Member
 
falcoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,384
Reputation: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
Except Tomb Blades are FA and Immortals are Troops, fulfilling different roles within your FOC. I would've been completely fine with a compulsory 1 HQ, 2 Troops, 1 FA Detachment...I love my Scarabs!

EDIT: I have this wrong. Instant Death is a -1 modifier to your dice after they roll for RP, not to the RP roll. I'm still trying to figure out why RP bonuses are cumulative...
True though in a decurion FoC role is irrelevent, I mean I see it more like an HQ 2 troops and slightly better troops for slightly more points :D

OH yeah, I always assumed it would just apply to when Cryptek+Everliving with an ID weapon. Though its worded ambiguously IMO. Though it also says that certain rules apply modifiers to 'this dice roll' so when it says +1 to RP that is +1 to the roll for RP so would work in the way we originally thought.

Me: To be honest im amazed there isn't a chaos god of not revising or at least chaos god of procrastination

MidnightSun: There will be, when enough people do it. Y'know when the Eldar were all engaging in their hedonism and Slaanesh ripped open the Eye of Terror with his creation? Slaanesh will have NOTHING on the God of Procrastination, and his vile minions will carve the galaxy asunder in a thousand year reign of blood.... Tomorrow
falcoso is offline  
post #143 of 143 (permalink) Old 02-03-15, 02:39 AM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcoso View Post
Though its worded ambiguously IMO.
I don't think it's very ambiguous, it states specifically that RP modifiers stack and that Instant Death weapons give you -1 to the dice after they are rolled if the weapons causing the wound also causes Instant Death. The thing that doesn't seem to surface is why, exactly, RP bonuses stack if they cannot be improved past a 4+.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Wargaming News, New Releases and Information > Wargaming News and 40k Rumors

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome