I suppose I'm going to withhold my ultimate judgments until I see the rules for myself, but I'm slightly
disappointed with what I've read so far.
Feel free to think I'm a whiner and roll your eyes at me, because I'm sure I deserve it, but:
Divination: AWESOME, but... artifact to unlock a psychic table? So, we pay yet another tax? Does it only unlock Divination for one Sorcerer, or does taking the artifact unlock it for the whole army? I'd be fine with the latter, but I have a very strong feeling it's the former. Don't get me wrong, I'd pay it in a heartbeat because I love Divination, but it seems sort of... I dunno, lame, to need to. If more than 1 Sorc has access to Divination, I can see Crimson Slaughter replacing CSM as my Primary Detachment, but I'm just very skeptical that GW would give us that much Divination. I am dreaming of some very evil CSM/Daemon deathstars that will probably never see the light of day (which is probably a good thing
we need less broken units, not more).
I guess if you were to compare the cost of bringing an allied detachment of Daemons with bringing a Tzherald with Divination, 25 points is a far cheaper tax. Also, a Sorcerer is waaaaay cooler, to be sure. So from that perspective, it's a great deal. I'd probably only be bringing 1 Tzherald anyway, so in the end I'd have more points and then not need the stupid unit of Pink Horrors that in ~5 games has yet to use a psychic power.
Possessed: I never use them, the changes are cool in theory, but I don't think I'll be buying any.
The AP3 kill-buffed weapon doesn't impress me, either. It's a neat idea, but 10 kills for a force weapon? Yes, there are other buffs along the way, but any number of things can go wrong that prevent you from even getting 1. A power sword is 15 points, so if this artifact is no more than 25 points I'd say it balances out. Perhaps my criticisms are a bit too negative about this item, but by the gods, PLEASE let there be more than 2 artifacts in the book.
Really, the big question I have is this: Do we have to pay a stupid tax for units in this book, like VotLW with Black Legion? Has that been answered in the rumors yet? Haven't seen anything about that yet.
Still very excited to see details about the (possible) Possessed Lord, the pretty pictures and read the fluff, and hopefully some cool artifacts aside from the 2 leaked so far.