1000pts Nids, Thoughts? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-22-13, 11:11 PM Thread Starter

Default 1000pts Nids, Thoughts?

HQ
Hive Tyrant: Wings/Hive/Commander/2 Twin Linked Devoures (285)

Elites
5 Ymgarl Genestealers (115)
2x Zoanthropes (120)

Troops
Tervigon: Catalyst/Glands/Sacs (195)
10x Termagaunts (50)
Mesceptic Spore (for Zoanthropes) (40)

Heavy
Trygon (200)

Total-1005

This is my first try at constructing a team, and I would like to know what y'all think. Should I take off the Glands or Sacs off the Tervigon?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-24-13, 02:03 PM

Creon's Flag is: USA

First off, you're using a LOT of expensive models, and are therefore weak in some areas. Here's my suggestions:

Quote:
Originally Posted by A.O.D. View Post
HQ
Drop this. I know a lot of folk will argue with me, but in 1k points, this is just too many points tied up for limited return. Make your Tervigon your HQ. That gives 285 points to play with.
Quote:

Elites
Ymgarls are nice, but again rather expensive for five models. I'd exchange this for two Hive Guard. It will give you much needed decent medium Anti-tank.
Quote:

2x Zoanthropes (120)

Troops
Not a bad choice. But it should be your HQ. Now, with the 285 points you've got from that exchange, add 10 Termagants and five warriors. Warriors with lashwhip/Bonesword are a better use of points at this point level, and are troops.
Quote:

10x Termagaunts (50)
Mycetic Spore (for Zoanthropes) (40)

Heavy
Trygon (200)
You should add 2 Biovores. The blast patterns are very useful agains gunline/horde armies.
Quote:

Total-1005

This is my first try at constructing a team, and I would like to know what y'all think. Should I take off the Glands or Sacs off the Tervigon?
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-24-13, 09:22 PM

fatmantis's Flag is: New Zealand