[6th] 1850 Advice Needed - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-12-12, 12:35 AM Thread Starter

abitterbuffalo's Flag is: USA

Default [6th] 1850 Advice Needed

I don't play Tyranids myself, I'm posting this to help a friend who is becoming discouraged with his army. 'Nids probably suffered the most transitioning into 6th edition and he's not had much luck with trying to find their new strengths. We've played several matches and each has been pretty one sided in my favor. I've been trying to help him refine his list but I have no play experience with them, so I've decided to write a list up and try them out for myself. Here's what I came up with:

HQ
285 Hive Tyrant - TL Devourer [2], Wings, Hive Commander (not sure what powers to take here, might have a go with Biomancy and Paroxysm)
85 Tyranid Prime - Deathspitter

Elites
150 Hive Guard (3)
150 Hive Guard (3)
100 Hive Guard (2)

Troops
150 Termigaunts (20) - Mycetic Spore - TL Deathspitter
100 Termigaunts (20)

Heavy Support
265 Tyranofex - Rupture Cannon
265 Tyranofex - Rupture Cannon

My plan: Everything but gaunt spores will start on table and target transports and high threats (basically anything with a flamer), so that when the spores hit the gaunts will have plenty of targets to mow through and they won't get splatted the next turn. Prime will hide behind a group of hive guard to keep synapse for them and tyranofexs... fexese... fexi?

This seems to be the biggest problem we've noticed with 'Nids. They don't have superior range or mobility to get where they need to be most effective. So it comes down to dropping them next to your opponent, ensuring they get their maximum number of shots.

Another option would be to use groups of ten gaunts with devourers. It's more shots, but ten gaunts is much easier to get rid of than twenty.

Any comments, criticism, and advice would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement