Photographing Miniatures - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-28-10, 08:34 AM Thread Starter

Default Photographing Miniatures

Here's a short tutorial to help you with the basics of photographing miniatures.

Photographing Miniatures Tutorial

Intro

If you’re reading this, then you’ve probably been asking yourself the question, “How on earth am I going to take a good picture of this mini?” Well, to be perfectly honest, there is no specific answer to that question, as there are many different ways and techniques people use. Also, I am no expert photographer in any way; however, in this tutorial I will try and cover some useful techniques and give some handy tips along the way.

Enjoy!

Starting Off

In this tutorial, I’ll assume you’ll be using a digital camera (since it’s highly recommended) and how to use it to a basic level. It is extremely unlikely that any digital camera you may have doesn’t have some kind of “macro” function. This is probably the most important and useful setting on your camera for photographing miniatures. As long as your camera meets this very simple specification, you should be fine!

Basics

Right, down to business. First of all, you’re going to need the miniature you want to photograph, a flat surface and a background to photograph onto. I’d recommend propping up a piece of plain white card on a wall, and another sheet of card on the surface. It should look something like this:

Next, you’re going to need to make sure that the room you are working in is well lit. Even if it is well lit, I’d suggest using a desk lamp and shining the light onto your plain white background. It should now look something like this:

Position your miniature against the background so it looks something like this:

Your Camera