My 2000pt space wolves wolf wing army. - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-29-09, 01:38 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CaptianEzekyleAbbadon's Avatar
CaptianEzekyleAbbadon's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: devonport auckland new zealand
Posts: 125
Reputation: 1
Icon My 2000pt space wolves wolf wing army.

hey this is what i take in my wolf wing.
HQ: Logan Grimnar
Elite:five, five man wolf guard terminator squads
and three rune priests,with a special move which i cant rember what it is called. but any model 24inch in a straight line from my priest has to roll 1d6 and if its on a monsterous creature e.g. nightbringer, if you roll a 6 he dies instinly. and if its some one like manius same again, you roll a 6 you die no matter how many wounds you are on. you die.
CaptianEzekyleAbbadon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-29-09, 02:11 AM
Senior Member
 
IronFortress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 125
Reputation: 1
Default

no HQ choices may have the same saga, same psychic powers, and same wargears...

If anyone would take advantage of the limitation on the english language by fielding multiple Rune Priests with that psychic power, I hope they don't expect any repeat customers... Or even have their first game...

http://schemingwarsmith.blogspot.com/

Iron Within!
Iron Without!
IronFortress is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-29-09, 02:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Sqwerlpunk's Avatar
Sqwerlpunk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nebraska, U.S.A.
Posts: 899
Reputation: 1
Default

As the rulebook very specifically states, "nor may they bear the same psychic powers or wargear combination".

Unless that is FAQ'd, it's speaking of "combinations", so may indeed run 3x JotWW Priests, as long as each of them has a unique secondary power.

Has the Infiltrate USR {NTGU}
>>Sqwerl's Tactical Squads<<

Sqwerlpunk is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-29-09, 02:32 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CaptianEzekyleAbbadon's Avatar
CaptianEzekyleAbbadon's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: devonport auckland new zealand
Posts: 125
Reputation: 1
Default

they do each have a secondary power which is is different
CaptianEzekyleAbbadon is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-29-09, 03:51 AM
Senior Member
 
IronFortress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 125
Reputation: 1
Default

I hope they strike that down...

same psychic powers should mean any duplicate psychic power...

If allowed, it would be even more rediculous than having 4 Lash wielding CSM lists... oh wait, CSM only gets 2 HQ choices while SW can have 4 total....

Combine with Long Fangs' ability to target two different targets, this would effectly gut lists with transports trying to circumvent the abuse...

Perhaps the editing forgot the comma, or should have kept certain things singular...

http://schemingwarsmith.blogspot.com/

Iron Within!
Iron Without!
IronFortress is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-29-09, 05:14 AM
Senior Member
 
OldHat's Avatar
OldHat's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 973
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronFortress View Post
I hope they strike that down...

same psychic powers should mean any duplicate psychic power...

If allowed, it would be even more rediculous than having 4 Lash wielding CSM lists... oh wait, CSM only gets 2 HQ choices while SW can have 4 total....

Combine with Long Fangs' ability to target two different targets, this would effectly gut lists with transports trying to circumvent the abuse...

Perhaps the editing forgot the comma, or should have kept certain things singular...
Lash does something entirely different and is not a good comparison. Jaws is NOT that big of a deal. Yes, it is potent, but it isn't the end all. If they are putting the 400+ points into HQs to get as many Jaws as they can, then they are going to be hurting in other more vital areas, like Troops.

Long Fangs have always had that ability, so it shouldn't be a shocker to anyone nor warrant any complaints. It is fair, since they cannot have ablative guys to soak up wounds like a basic Dev Squad can.
OldHat is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-29-09, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Atsuno11's Avatar
Atsuno11's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 253
Reputation: 1
Default

Do SW not need troops?

"Wherever you tread, tread lightly. We are closer than you think, and our blades are sharp."

"We are coming. Look to the skies for your salvation."

"In the darkness all men are equal, save those that embrace it."

-Captain Kayvaan Shrike, Raven Guard 3rd Company
Atsuno11 is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-29-09, 05:38 AM
Senior Moderator
 
darkreever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey, little ways out of NYC
Posts: 6,993
Reputation: 25
Default

Grimnar allows you to take wolf guard as troops, CaptianEzekyleAbbadon still has them listed as elites even though he clearly can't have that many.

Damnation is paved on good intentions; subtle and sugar coated or blunt and honest
A hero is someone who steps up when everyone else backs down.
Popularity is what people strive for when they lack the strength to be themselves.


Seriously, is it really that hard to write reviews without spoilers?

Reporting Posts - read this
darkreever is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-29-09, 05:46 AM
Senior Member
 
IronFortress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 125
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Lash does something entirely different and is not a good comparison. Jaws is NOT that big of a deal. Yes, it is potent, but it isn't the end all. If they are putting the 400+ points into HQs to get as many Jaws as they can, then they are going to be hurting in other more vital areas, like Troops.
Their Troops cost around 150 for a full 10 man squad that is armed like CSM squads. I don't see a problem here. Plus they get free 2nd special weapon in the right conditions... The two psychic powers are comparible in that they both affect a whole squad. Perhaps more... JotWW is more devastating in that it just remove whole models without any interaction from your opponent. You roll, they get swallowed... At least, with Lash, one can roll some leadership...

Quote:
Long Fangs have always had that ability, so it shouldn't be a shocker to anyone nor warrant any complaints. It is fair, since they cannot have ablative guys to soak up wounds like a basic Dev Squad can.
The problem is not the Long Fangs. The problem isn't even that power. The problem is allowing people to have upto 4 of them running around. And it isn't even an implicit rule that allows it... It is allowed because people choose to interpret the limitation as bypassed when you have different combination of psychic powers.

I say you cannot have any of the same psychic powers among them. My hope is that an FAQ would restore faith that the Space Wolves are not the greatest Psychic Force in the Universe. Speaking of which, how come Tzeentch Sorcerers have weaker powers than those drooling puppies...




4 rune priests 400
4 troops of Grey Hunters, no specials 600
3 Heavy - Long Fangs 500ish

enough to ruin anyone's day...

http://schemingwarsmith.blogspot.com/

Iron Within!
Iron Without!
IronFortress is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-29-09, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Taggerung's Avatar
Taggerung's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 870
Reputation: 3
Default

I used the power one game, and it is very powerful. Broken? Against certain armies definitely...against others? Worthless, however if someone popped down with 4 of them, I would politely pick up my models and tell them to **** themselves since the game just wouldn't be fun. Tournament setting? I would expect to see it.



Check out my DKOK Project Log!

Armies : Raven Lords Chapter, 219th Siege Regiment and Da Grotteef Waaaaghhhh

Currently Painting : 219th Siege Regiment, about 25% done! Last updated 3/7/2013
Taggerung is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Army Lists > Space Marine Army Lists

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome