Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1500pts space wolves to get back into the game

829 views 4 replies 2 participants last post by  LordOfTheWolves 
#1 ·
So as it says I'm starting playing again after many years I've kept painting and I've amounted so many minis it's about time I started playing properly again
Any help and alive with this list would be great cheers

HQ
Harold deathwolf

ELITES
5 wolf guard terminators all TH/SS

TROOPS
6x grey hunter-melta gun and CCW, drop pod with locator becon, wolf guard pack leader-frost axe and combi melta.
6x grey hunter-melta gun and CCW, rhino, wolf guard pack leader-frost axe and combi melta.

FAST ATTACK
3 thunderwolf cav, all with storm shields and leader with thunder hammer rest CCW. Melta bomb
3 thunderwolf cav, all with storm shields and power fists.

HEAVEY SUPPORT
long fang pack with 2 flakk missile launcher, 2 regular missile launcher, razorback with lazplaz

The idea is to run Harold and the thunder hammer thunderwolf and out flank to start, drop GH in drop pod in behind enemy zone and trap enemy targets between with PF thunder wolfs. Use long fangs in obvious role and using the flakk with sky fire if needed on flyers, use GH In rhino to secure objectives where needed, then deep strike terminators on locator beacon pod
So in the first turn I'll have Harold, 3 thunderwolf, 5 terminators and a melta GH pack all in enemy deployment zone. With the powerfist Thunderwolves closing in on hard targets and rhino GH securing what I need whist long fangs pick off what I see.

Simple idea and trying to plan for all eventual out comes

What do you think
Cheers guys

See less See more
#2 ·
Surprised no one has replied to this, apologies wolf brother!

Seems a good list, but a few things I am confused about. How are you getting Harold and the thunder wolves (sounds like a 80s punk band) and the terminators in the enemy deployment zone on turn 1?