Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Search Results
Advanced Search
Showing results 1 to 50 of 409
Search took 0.11 seconds.
Search: Posts Made By: HiveMinder
Forum: Age of Sigmar   07-12-15, 02:09 AM
Replies: 19
Views: 3,498
Posted By HiveMinder
Well, that's always what GW has claimed...

Well, that's always what GW has claimed themselves, and honestly, I think AoS reflects that. They've created a system where your miniatures collection is free to expand however you want regardless of...
Forum: Warhammer Rules Discussion   04-30-15, 06:08 PM
Replies: 1
Views: 1,486
Posted By HiveMinder
End Times Magic: A Review

So yesterday, I got together with a group of friends for a game of WHFB with the End Times magic rules (sans arcane fulcrums). Granted it was only a single game but I could see the pros and cons over...
Forum: Warhammer Rules Discussion   04-30-15, 01:50 PM
Replies: 3
Views: 3,251
Posted By HiveMinder
If you want to get technical, the 2x2 block of...

If you want to get technical, the 2x2 block of Vargeists would never disrupt Steadfast, since disruption requires 2 ranks of at least 3 models when dealing with monstrous infantry. A unit of 9 or...
Forum: Warhammer Rules Discussion   05-07-14, 08:04 PM
Replies: 6
Views: 1,788
Posted By HiveMinder
No. These models can be 'attacked' separately...

No. These models can be 'attacked' separately (pg. 105). So while both of them are affected if, say, someone casts Dweller's on them , it is resolved for the rider and mount separately.

...
Forum: Warhammer Rules Discussion   05-07-14, 06:52 PM
Replies: 3
Views: 2,787
Posted By HiveMinder
Reforming is a maneuver done during movement, so...

Reforming is a maneuver done during movement, so even if they don't make any forward movement, the act of reforming means they have moved, and thus take the -1 penalty to hit for shooting.
Forum: Vampire Counts Army Lists   04-10-14, 06:37 PM
Replies: 0
Views: 908
Posted By HiveMinder
2500 Mannfred list, thoughts?

So I recently started collecting VC and realized I have a lot more of an army than I thought. Here's what I'm thinking:

Count Mannfred

Necromancer
- lvl 2 wizard
- lore of the vampires...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   03-18-14, 04:35 PM
Replies: 28
Views: 3,779
Posted By HiveMinder
We can all agree that there is no definitive...

We can all agree that there is no definitive ruling on this, so the next best thing is to think about what is happening logically. (I know, logic and GW is like oil and water.)

From a purely...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-12-14, 09:27 PM
Replies: 28
Views: 3,779
Posted By HiveMinder
The nids version reads the same way except its a...

The nids version reads the same way except its a 6" nova, and it's 2D6+2 and subtract the units Ld.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-12-14, 06:57 PM
Replies: 28
Views: 3,779
Posted By HiveMinder
That is your preconceived notions about Ld scores...

That is your preconceived notions about Ld scores talking. Anytime the BRB says to use the highest Ld in a unit, it is always within the context of taking a Ld test.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-12-14, 05:33 PM
Replies: 28
Views: 3,779
Posted By HiveMinder
Psychic Shriek is a witch fire power with a range...

Psychic Shriek is a witch fire power with a range of 12". Roll 3D6 and subtract the target's Leadership - the unit suffers a number of Wounds equal to the result. Armor and cover saves cannot be...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-12-14, 05:23 PM
Replies: 7
Views: 1,144
Posted By HiveMinder
You're just making stuff up now. The BRB does not...

You're just making stuff up now. The BRB does not say that it becomes one shot, it says they fire together. This is because under normal circumstances blast weapons are resolved one at a time. It is...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-12-14, 05:04 PM
Replies: 28
Views: 3,779
Posted By HiveMinder
It doesn't, which is the problem. There are no...

It doesn't, which is the problem. There are no rules in the BRB explicitly saying how to determine a unit's characteristic when there are differing values. The closest comparison is the "Multiple...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-12-14, 04:52 PM
Replies: 7
Views: 1,144
Posted By HiveMinder
Yes, That's really the point of contention...

Yes, That's really the point of contention though. the thing is you have 3 weapons firing, each with that rule, so one could argue (and I will) that the placement of the first blast triggers the...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-12-14, 02:25 AM
Replies: 7
Views: 738
Posted By HiveMinder
Yeah.....smells like a cheater to me. It's hard...

Yeah.....smells like a cheater to me. It's hard to claim ignorance when there's a big bold "Automatic Pass and Fail" heading underneath the characteristics test rules. Took me literally 4 seconds to...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-12-14, 02:17 AM
Replies: 28
Views: 3,779
Posted By HiveMinder
Regardless, it's till not a characteristic test,...

Regardless, it's till not a characteristic test, it's a 'compare to value' mechanic.

It functions more like the rules for shooting at multiple toughness value units on pg. 14 of the BRB. When...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-12-14, 01:57 AM
Replies: 7
Views: 1,144
Posted By HiveMinder
Spore Mine Clusters

So I've seen this being debated elsewhere and was surprised to not find anything about it here. So when biovores scatter and and there are no models under the first of the template, you place D3...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-10-14, 07:23 PM
Replies: 11
Views: 834
Posted By HiveMinder
Sorry, I didn't mean to cause any confusion. I...

Sorry, I didn't mean to cause any confusion. I was just trying to clarify that you have to declare you are evading to get the jink save, so you'd better make sure you have the obscured save...
Forum: General 40k   02-10-14, 07:17 PM
Replies: 7
Views: 554
Posted By HiveMinder
Having badass ranged weaponry and being a good...

Having badass ranged weaponry and being a good shot are two different things, and I don't think BS 4 for one unit in the whole army makes us spoiled. Fluff wise it made sense. Hive guard were...
Forum: General 40k   02-10-14, 07:06 PM
Replies: 7
Views: 554
Posted By HiveMinder
I guess you don't play against eldar or GK much. ...

I guess you don't play against eldar or GK much.

Yes, it's a minimal change, but I only thought a minimal change was necessary anyway. Besides I prefer the slight tweaking of the IB tables as a...
Forum: General 40k   02-10-14, 04:09 PM
Replies: 7
Views: 554
Posted By HiveMinder
New Tyranids - Minor Tweaks

So, after dealing with the initial shock of the new tyranid codex and internet-fueled rage, I finally took the time to sit down and have a better look at the codex. There are certainly so me...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-10-14, 01:47 PM
Replies: 11
Views: 834
Posted By HiveMinder
Just adding my two cents. Be aware that...

Just adding my two cents. Be aware that regardless if you use the jink save or not, you still have to declare whether the flyer is going to evade (to gain the jink save) before armor pen rolls are...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-08-14, 06:58 AM
Replies: 5
Views: 886
Posted By HiveMinder
I wrote all this out and lost it because my login...

I wrote all this out and lost it because my login timed out,so here's the short version. I can go into more detail later if you wish.

17) yes, this is covered in the DE FAQ.

18) yes to all,...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-07-14, 11:53 PM
Replies: 15
Views: 2,032
Posted By HiveMinder
I'm following the rules for deep striking to get...

I'm following the rules for deep striking to get it on the board. As I said, there is a difference between 'deployed' and 'placed'. The mawloc rules let you place it on other troops, then it scatters...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-07-14, 09:15 PM
Replies: 15
Views: 2,032
Posted By HiveMinder
Deep strike happens like this: 1) place a...

Deep strike happens like this:

1) place a model from the unit on the battlefield (this is the 'point') referred to in the mawloc rules.
2) roll for scatter.
3) deploy the unit at this final...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-07-14, 08:43 PM
Replies: 5
Views: 886
Posted By HiveMinder
My that's a lot of questions. I'll answer what I...

My that's a lot of questions. I'll answer what I can now, and consult my elder book when I get home for more. I do love a good rules hunt, but there are just too many here for me to tackle in one...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-07-14, 05:12 PM
Replies: 10
Views: 684
Posted By HiveMinder
I'd argue that in this situation, the shot...

I'd argue that in this situation, the shot couldn't be made at all. Unless it's a pintle mounted weapon (and I'm pretty sure that nothing on the stormraven qualifies), line of sight is drawn from the...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-07-14, 04:37 PM
Replies: 15
Views: 2,032
Posted By HiveMinder
I'm going to say that the misplaced mawloc CANNOT...

I'm going to say that the misplaced mawloc CANNOT be used against the tyranid player, and here's why.

The TFtD rule says it may choose to deep strike onto a point occupied by model (friend or...
Forum: Warhammer Rules Discussion   07-24-13, 06:56 PM
Replies: 2
Views: 1,119
Posted By HiveMinder
Yes, you would roll for Ambushing and Scouting...

Yes, you would roll for Ambushing and Scouting units when rolling for Sneaky Schemes. It simply states you roll for each enemy unit, then forces affected units to deploy a certain way, instead of how...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   08-14-12, 03:10 PM
Replies: 19
Views: 1,432
Posted By HiveMinder
Under the Psychic Powers section of CSM codex,...

Under the Psychic Powers section of CSM codex, "The only exception is a model with the Mark of Tzeentch, which can attempt to use up to two psychic powers per player turn."

Mark of Tzeentch...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   08-10-12, 03:36 PM
Replies: 39
Views: 1,599
Posted By HiveMinder
That's what I get for not paying attention to...

That's what I get for not paying attention to page references. Although I do love GW's inability to put all the relevant rules for a situation in one place, I'll shut up now.
Forum: Warhammer Rules Discussion   08-10-12, 03:28 PM
Replies: 8
Views: 1,247
Posted By HiveMinder
I don't see anywhere in the rules that restricts...

I don't see anywhere in the rules that restricts any special rule from being applied more than once, in fact it explicitly says, "The effects of multiple special rules are cumulative." (pg. 66) The...
Forum: Warhammer Rules Discussion   08-10-12, 02:23 PM
Replies: 7
Views: 1,013
Posted By HiveMinder
The template spells in the back of the BRB are...

The template spells in the back of the BRB are classified as Direct Damage, which prevents them from targeting units in combat.

And you seem to be glossing over the RAW that says "Some unique...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   08-10-12, 01:42 PM
Replies: 39
Views: 1,599
Posted By HiveMinder
You just answered your own question. Since...

You just answered your own question. Since embarking upon the transport is optional, can a unit embarked on the Drop Pod really be included in the "MUST Deep Strike" portion of the army and be...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   08-09-12, 08:41 PM
Replies: 7
Views: 790
Posted By HiveMinder
The only one I've seen is the one that comes with...

The only one I've seen is the one that comes with the Psychic Disciplines card deck.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   08-09-12, 08:38 PM
Replies: 39
Views: 1,599
Posted By HiveMinder
1 - Outflanking does supersede the normal rules...

1 - Outflanking does supersede the normal rules for Reserves insofar as how units arrive from Reserve. When you declare that a unit will be outflanking, it is placed in Reserve, then the remainder of...
Forum: WFB Houserules and Homebrews   08-09-12, 07:48 PM
Replies: 7
Views: 2,117
Posted By HiveMinder
That's great that you have a gaming group that...

That's great that you have a gaming group that actually uses terrain effectively, but as you said, most tournaments leave the battlefield completely bare. Additionally, the rules for deploying...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   08-09-12, 05:58 PM
Replies: 39
Views: 1,599
Posted By HiveMinder
Because I like to see people suffer. ...

Because I like to see people suffer.

However, I believe the answer to my posited question is, YES. You would have to keep half the army deployed normally. The dedicated transports are considered...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   08-09-12, 05:44 PM
Replies: 39
Views: 1,599
Posted By HiveMinder
^this. But if you really want a brain...

^this.

But if you really want a brain teaser, consider this. You could buy a drop pod transport for every unit in your army which must deplay via deep strike, but the units you buy them for are...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   08-09-12, 05:25 PM
Replies: 102
Views: 4,981
Posted By HiveMinder
Ok, i'm going to change my answer. While it is...

Ok, i'm going to change my answer. While it is still possible for the pile-in to happen at a different Initiative step, as in the case I presented for Tyranids where the Initiative actually changes...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   08-08-12, 04:04 PM
Replies: 102
Views: 4,981
Posted By HiveMinder
@magpie: I appreciate the tenacity to which you...

@magpie: I appreciate the tenacity to which you hold onto your interpretation of the rules, but it's wrong. You can indeed pile-in and attack at two separate initiative steps. It happens with...
Forum: WFB Houserules and Homebrews   08-08-12, 01:45 PM
Replies: 7
Views: 2,117
Posted By HiveMinder
That's all well and good, but I don't know a...

That's all well and good, but I don't know a single player who takes a cannon to kill rank-and-file hordes. So justifying its low points by comparing it to something it's not meant to do doesn't...
Forum: WFB Houserules and Homebrews   08-08-12, 01:13 PM
Replies: 7
Views: 2,117
Posted By HiveMinder
I had thought about that too. It could work like...

I had thought about that too. It could work like the warp lightning cannon for skaven, where the Strength of the cannnon ball after the bounce is determined by the Artillery die roll. So if it...
Forum: Warhammer Rules Discussion   08-08-12, 01:06 PM
Replies: 4
Views: 942
Posted By HiveMinder
As Archaon said, you would either declare a...

As Archaon said, you would either declare a multi-charge, as you cannot complete your charge (closing the door) without touching the other enemy unit. In this case, you would wheel to avoid the...
Forum: WFB Houserules and Homebrews   08-07-12, 06:41 PM
Replies: 7
Views: 2,117
Posted By HiveMinder
Fixing Cannons

I'm a pretty big fan of 8th edition, but there's one aspect of it that I can't stop thinking is completely broken. CANNONS! My problems with cannons are many, but these are the most glaring:

1....
Forum: Warhammer Tactics   08-07-12, 05:36 PM
Replies: 6
Views: 6,167
Posted By HiveMinder
I'd also recommend running as many Plague Mortars...

I'd also recommend running as many Plague Mortars as you can muster. Dwarves are resilient little buggers, so dropping small round templates on them that ignore armor saves is a great way to thin...
Forum: Warhammer Rules Discussion   08-07-12, 02:37 PM
Replies: 7
Views: 1,013
Posted By HiveMinder
Plague Furnace Billowing Death: "This attack...

Plague Furnace Billowing Death: "This attack happens in any friendly Shooting Phase, and cannot be made if the unit pushing the Plague Furnace is in combat. In the Shooting phase, place the flame...
Forum: Warhammer Rules Discussion   08-06-12, 07:12 PM
Replies: 7
Views: 1,013
Posted By HiveMinder
Things that don't target units

So my wife and I got into an argument yesterday over osme of my Skaven weaponry. Of particular note is the Plague Furnace's shooting attack and the Scorch spell.

I argued that both of these things...
Forum: Warhammer Rules Discussion   08-01-12, 02:42 AM
Replies: 1
Views: 684
Posted By HiveMinder
Spirit Leech question

This just came up in a game and it seems really cheesy.

How would Spirit Leech (compare Ld+d6 and target takes wounds equal to the difference) work against a target with Ld '-', such as a Plague...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   07-27-12, 08:13 PM
Replies: 18
Views: 722
Posted By HiveMinder
Yes, they do not have to take the 3" move, but...

Yes, they do not have to take the 3" move, but the last paragraph of Regroup on page 31 says:


The new ATSKNF only removes the 'cannot move further' stipulation, but it does nothing to remove the...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   07-27-12, 07:37 PM
Replies: 18
Views: 722
Posted By HiveMinder
Scratch what I said before, SM FAQ specifically...

Scratch what I said before, SM FAQ specifically states to use the ATSKNF in the BRB.

So, yes, they count as moving when they rally, and can only Snap Fire.
Showing results 1 to 50 of 409

 
Forum Jump
 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome