Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Search Results
Advanced Search
Showing results 1 to 50 of 500
Search took 6.58 seconds.
Search: Posts Made By: solkan
Forum: Warmachine, Hordes & Other Privateer Press Discussion   01-30-12, 08:33 AM
Replies: 4
Views: 1,108
Posted By solkan
No, you can't. See:...

No, you can't. See: http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?93590-Is-a-Power-Attack-an-Option-Under-these-Circumstances&p=1251604&viewfull=1#post1251604

You can either take the rulebook's...
Forum: General 40k   09-30-11, 02:50 AM
Replies: 25
Views: 1,498
Posted By solkan
One simple fix: Change Daemon Princes and...

One simple fix:
Change Daemon Princes and Soul Grinders to 1-3 (or perhaps more) per unit.

Optional Elaborations on the above:
Make Daemon Princes IC's.
Make Greater Daemons IC's.
...
Forum: General 40k   09-07-11, 03:38 AM
Replies: 25
Views: 1,465
Posted By solkan
http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/catalog/productD...

http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/catalog/productDetail.jsp?prodId=prod260006a

US $50 brand new. The original poster and various people trying to sell first edition copies seem to be under the...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   09-06-11, 06:44 AM
Replies: 33
Views: 4,116
Posted By solkan
Just to pick one arbitrary example: In the Chaos...

Just to pick one arbitrary example: In the Chaos Daemons book, and in the spearhead box, Beasts of Nurgle have the 60mm round bases. If you go out and buy one in a blister pack you're quite likely...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   08-10-11, 04:05 AM
Replies: 3
Views: 514
Posted By solkan
Do you want to guess how many attacks a model...

Do you want to guess how many attacks a model that has a 0 attack stat makes in close combat? I'll give you a hint: It's covered in paragraph four in the first column of page 7 of the rulebook.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   07-04-11, 10:01 AM
Replies: 12
Views: 2,042
Posted By solkan
By Shaun_wi's same reasoning Doombolt, Wind of...

By Shaun_wi's same reasoning Doombolt, Wind of Chaos ad Bolt of Change in the CSM codex only require one psychic test per game because no duration is specified for those, either. Since they just...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   06-30-11, 06:04 AM
Replies: 34
Views: 1,999
Posted By solkan
Grinnsira, the difference in timing is like so: ...

Grinnsira, the difference in timing is like so:

It's the first player turn. Unit A charges unit X, and Unit B charges Unit Z. So, according to the sequence of events:

T1. Unit A performs its...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   06-28-11, 01:10 AM
Replies: 34
Views: 1,999
Posted By solkan
arumichic, Drazaar's ability isn't as limited as...

arumichic, Drazaar's ability isn't as limited as you seem to feel that it is. "Anywhere there's room to place him" includes on the other side of an enemy model but still within 2" of a friendly...
Forum: General 40k   06-25-11, 04:16 PM
Replies: 37
Views: 4,601
Posted By solkan
Space Marines are why pre-painted figures...

Space Marines are why pre-painted figures wouldn't work. Blue Space Marines vs. Red Space Marines vs. Green Space Marines vs. Grey Space Marines vs ...

You try selling a Blue Space Marine to a...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   06-12-11, 04:16 AM
Replies: 24
Views: 1,764
Posted By solkan
Looking at the books quickly... 3rd edition:...

Looking at the books quickly...

3rd edition: Being able to automatically pass the morale check has absolutely no down side at all. (Although I think fearless was much more limited back then.)
...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   05-19-11, 02:17 AM
Replies: 22
Views: 1,683
Posted By solkan
The problem is that you're not reading the...

The problem is that you're not reading the statement correctly. The statement is "... but these restrictions do not apply to models subject to this special rule."

So you completely ignore that...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   05-06-11, 05:46 AM
Replies: 12
Views: 983
Posted By solkan
For the discussion to be fair at all, you have to...

For the discussion to be fair at all, you have to accuse the following units of being daemons:

Legion of the Damned
Warp Beasts
Lucius the Eternal
Sanguinor
the Grey Knight guy that's "lost"...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   05-06-11, 05:28 AM
Replies: 5
Views: 655
Posted By solkan
You're just as wrong as your post on WarSeer. ...

You're just as wrong as your post on WarSeer.

If the assault grenades don't negate the penalty because "there's no cover", then there's no penalty at all because "there's no cover" that's be...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   03-30-11, 07:36 AM
Replies: 57
Views: 2,727
Posted By solkan
Counter arguments: 1. Where in the rulebook...

Counter arguments:

1. Where in the rulebook is permission given to use the same power twice?

2. Conflict in timing. You've just used a 'at the start of the movement phase' power. Is it...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   03-09-11, 01:12 AM
Replies: 4
Views: 659
Posted By solkan
The main rulebook forbids firing into close...

The main rulebook forbids firing into close combat. Period. The assumption is made that close combats are going to involve both you and one opponent, but the only exception made is for scattering...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   03-07-11, 04:34 AM
Replies: 9
Views: 663
Posted By solkan
The dreadnought is embarked on the vehicle, a...

The dreadnought is embarked on the vehicle, a non-open topped vehicle, and no further stipulations are made beyond those allowing two units to be embarked on the vehicle.

THEREFORE, all of the...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-19-11, 09:19 AM
Replies: 2
Views: 1,691
Posted By solkan
A nice argument could be made that the Tau...

A nice argument could be made that the Tau Commander, if purchased with an accompanying bodyguard, doesn't becomes an IC upon the death of the bodyguard.

But if the bodyguard is purchased to...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   02-18-11, 03:54 AM
Replies: 11
Views: 672
Posted By solkan
The next time you have a Dark Angels player claim...

The next time you have a Dark Angels player claim that, you open their codex to page 27 and point to part in the unit entry that says that that unit cannot turbo-boost in the scout move.

It...
Forum: General 40k   02-17-11, 12:07 AM
Replies: 26
Views: 1,628
Posted By solkan
What I really dislike are lighting effects,...

What I really dislike are lighting effects, because they're impossible to do accurately for general viewing angles and it just shatters my suspension of disbelief.

It can look very nice and...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   01-31-11, 06:08 PM
Replies: 5
Views: 1,150
Posted By solkan
You cite a nonexistent rule. For attribute...

You cite a nonexistent rule.

For attribute tests, a 6's usually fail. For shooting, 1's usually miss. For wounding, 1's usually fail to wound. There's no automatic failure for modified reserve...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   01-23-11, 09:16 AM
Replies: 5
Views: 566
Posted By solkan
On second thought, the chain of thought behind...

On second thought, the chain of thought behind the two questions is flawed.

CSM: The rhino doesn't need to be able to fire at all to use the Repair rule. As specified, using the repair rule...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   01-23-11, 12:58 AM
Replies: 5
Views: 566
Posted By solkan
For Question #2, that depends entirely on what...

For Question #2, that depends entirely on what the Repair rule for the codex you bought the rhino from says.

For instance, CSM rhinos can repair in the same turn, but Codex:Space Marine rhino's...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   01-23-11, 12:40 AM
Replies: 48
Views: 2,870
Posted By solkan
Honestly, if you're going to line the board edge...

Honestly, if you're going to line the board edge with rulers you might as well just ask to pre-measure everything.

I'm sure anyone else who has had the misfortune to play on a poorly flocked Realm...
Forum: General 40k   01-20-11, 02:49 AM
Replies: 21
Views: 993
Posted By solkan
I can't help it. I looked at the new pictures of...

I can't help it. I looked at the new pictures of the model and the old Micromachines commercial started playing in my head.

"Introducing the new Micromachines Thunderhawk..."...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   01-17-11, 03:17 AM
Replies: 22
Views: 2,897
Posted By solkan
The rules for summoning daemons in a CSM army are...

The rules for summoning daemons in a CSM army are on page 61 of that codex, in the grey box that takes up the lower half of the page.

I assume by now that you've noticed that there are only...
Forum: General 40k   01-16-11, 07:34 AM
Replies: 82
Views: 5,423
Posted By solkan
http://images.dakkadakka.com/gallery/2009/2/4/1838...

http://images.dakkadakka.com/gallery/2009/2/4/18383_sm-Champion%2C%20Chaos%2C%20Gas%20Mask%2C%20Robes%2C%20Rogue%20Trader%2C%20Snipers.JPG...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   01-15-11, 04:33 PM
Replies: 9
Views: 483
Posted By solkan
I think we have to attribute this to a fever...

I think we have to attribute this to a fever dream or similar effect.

The 4th edition codex uses the term 'brood', and defines it as a synonym for 'unit' on page 34 of that book. Looking at the...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   01-14-11, 05:18 PM
Replies: 18
Views: 3,744
Posted By solkan
The Vanguard don't get to assault because they...

The Vanguard don't get to assault because they have disembarked from a transport vehicle that has already moved.

Also, the Storm Raven's Assault Vehicle rule doesn't work when the Storm Raven deep...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   01-14-11, 03:02 PM
Replies: 24
Views: 1,710
Posted By solkan
Of course, this just means that GW looked at...

Of course, this just means that GW looked at their expected 2015 release date for those two codices and decided they needed a quick amendment to keep selling. :secret:
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   01-14-11, 12:18 AM
Replies: 8
Views: 544
Posted By solkan
You're asking whether something will be allowed...

You're asking whether something will be allowed when no one can even admit to seeing the rules for the new codex yet?!?!?

The answer to your question is: YES. NO. ABSOLUTELY MAYBE.

I have to...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   01-13-11, 07:05 AM
Replies: 277
Views: 11,591
Posted By solkan
And here I was thinking that arguments couldn't...

And here I was thinking that arguments couldn't get any worse than wrecked Land Raiders firing, or Land Raiders firing from reserve, the logical conclusion of the 0+1=1 argument.

So why can't a...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   01-13-11, 05:47 AM
Replies: 23
Views: 1,895
Posted By solkan
If you're claiming that a model should have to...

If you're claiming that a model should have to make more than one dangerous terrain test per move, then I disagree quite strongly.

Page 14 says "Roll a D6 for every model that has entered, left...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   01-13-11, 02:16 AM
Replies: 23
Views: 1,895
Posted By solkan
Sure, you could deliberately try to get your own...

Sure, you could deliberately try to get your own walker stuck in dangerous terrain.

Of course, the limiting factors are:
1. You only roll once per move independent of the number of times that...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   01-13-11, 02:03 AM
Replies: 23
Views: 1,370
Posted By solkan
For the record, the main rulebook on page two...

For the record, the main rulebook on page two contains the rules for rolling dice, and those rules include the statement:

"... and no single dice can be re-rolled more than once regardless of the...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   01-10-11, 01:34 AM
Replies: 3
Views: 493
Posted By solkan
Chapter Tactics states that the exchange is done...

Chapter Tactics states that the exchange is done if the model is included in the army.

Death does not remove the model from the army, and so would not undo the exchange.
Forum: General 40k   01-08-11, 10:54 PM
Replies: 34
Views: 1,540
Posted By solkan
Frankly, I resent being lumped in with the MinMax...

Frankly, I resent being lumped in with the MinMax hardcore crowd because my daemonic army looks like a bucket of Skittles. :ireful2:

There are two other, simple and pragmatic reasons for not...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   01-07-11, 03:52 AM
Replies: 3
Views: 2,239
Posted By solkan
You are correct to conclude that Boon of Mutation...

You are correct to conclude that Boon of Mutation works like every other shooting weapon in that you can't fire the same weapon multiple times unless you somehow get more than one of it.

The only...
Forum: General 40k   01-07-11, 03:48 AM
Replies: 34
Views: 1,540
Posted By solkan
That whole traditional Daemonic Rivalry that you...

That whole traditional Daemonic Rivalry that you could almost completely ignore in the previous CSM codex by having a neutral follower in the army. Or before that, when all it took to have Tzeentch...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-31-10, 02:41 AM
Replies: 3
Views: 1,058
Posted By solkan
You declare that you're going to ground "before...

You declare that you're going to ground "before you take any saves or remove any models." Are you taking any saves or removing any models? No? Then you have no permission to go to ground.

More...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-20-10, 06:53 AM
Replies: 11
Views: 1,268
Posted By solkan
Hey, Harlequins have a perfectly good place in my...

Hey, Harlequins have a perfectly good place in my "Every model I'm fielding today is older than you are!" lists. :so_happy:
Forum: General 40k   12-20-10, 06:48 AM
Replies: 7
Views: 700
Posted By solkan
I'm not sure whether the OP was attacked by a...

I'm not sure whether the OP was attacked by a spell-checker or an auto-correct feature. :unsure:

But, to be more helpful, I'd like to direct attention to nice firing arc diagrams on page 59 of...
Forum: General 40k   12-19-10, 03:45 AM
Replies: 26
Views: 1,272
Posted By solkan
I play Skittles brand Chaos Daemons, so I'm just...

I play Skittles brand Chaos Daemons, so I'm just going to ignore most of the OP's questions. The rules for daemonic animosity have flip flopped and changed every single time that a new book...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-17-10, 07:07 AM
Replies: 11
Views: 1,060
Posted By solkan
Presumably, the Black Templar codex doesn't...

Presumably, the Black Templar codex doesn't define the item because in 4th edition the permission to disembark and assault was granted to ALL Land Raiders (and their variants) by page 62 of the 4th...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-15-10, 09:12 PM
Replies: 20
Views: 1,168
Posted By solkan
How complicated are the WBB rules? Almost two...

How complicated are the WBB rules? Almost two entire pages. There's 3/4 of a page on page 13, a paragraph on page 21, and then a complete page out of the FAQ. And that's ignoring the fact that one...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-14-10, 02:49 AM
Replies: 37
Views: 1,904
Posted By solkan
lokis222, while you might feel that you're...

lokis222, while you might feel that you're justified in kicking your feet into the dirt and throwing a tantrum because the FAQ rules against Tyranids, when you write "I am inclined to be a dick about...
Forum: General 40k   12-14-10, 02:33 AM
Replies: 46
Views: 1,981
Posted By solkan
This is a tough question for me, because it's...

This is a tough question for me, because it's like asking how long a Chaos Space Marine has been alive--do those "years" gained in the warp because of time travel really count? :scratchhead:
...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-11-10, 08:10 AM
Replies: 12
Views: 894
Posted By solkan
There are two rules for this: Rule #1: It's...

There are two rules for this:
Rule #1: It's Apocalypse, your gaming group should decide for yourselves.
Rule #2: See Rule #1.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-08-10, 03:31 AM
Replies: 15
Views: 3,748
Posted By solkan
Because this is the rules forum, I'd like to...

Because this is the rules forum, I'd like to point out a sentence from the Ork codex, on page 95, the paragraph marked Options, second sentence:


Therefore, if your model is depicted as having a...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-04-10, 07:38 PM
Replies: 14
Views: 764
Posted By solkan
As far as I can tell, this comes down to one side...

As far as I can tell, this comes down to one side saying "This is how it worked in 4th edition, and GW didn't change anything in the Necron codex, so it should still work that way" and the other side...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-02-10, 11:37 PM
Replies: 5
Views: 571
Posted By solkan
And there are those of us who complained about...

And there are those of us who complained about the missing half page or so of deployment rules, including a nice statement allowing deployment in non-dedicated transports. It's for us, too. ...
Showing results 1 to 50 of 500

 
Forum Jump
 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome