Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Search Results
Advanced Search
Showing results 1 to 50 of 499
Search took 0.10 seconds.
Search: Posts Made By: Klaivex
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-16-12, 05:20 AM
Replies: 22
Views: 1,193
Posted By Klaivex
This i can't refute, but it seems to have been a...

This i can't refute, but it seems to have been a poor choice of wording in general as they had to FAQ how the aegis is deployed, namely "end to end" as it is a more accurate description.
I...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-16-12, 04:31 AM
Replies: 22
Views: 1,193
Posted By Klaivex
Chariots, like skimmers have bases. ...

Chariots, like skimmers have bases.



These are fortifications, not vehicles.


There indeed is such a thing as being in contact, but not base contact. It is covered under ramming,...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-16-12, 01:40 AM
Replies: 22
Views: 1,193
Posted By Klaivex
What would be the rational behind your decision...

What would be the rational behind your decision if you don't mind me asking?
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-16-12, 12:42 AM
Replies: 22
Views: 1,193
Posted By Klaivex
That is not my logic at all. "One model in...

That is not my logic at all.

"One model in base contact with the gun emplacement can fire it..."

On model, with a base, who's base is in contact with the gun can fire it.

The gun does not...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-15-12, 02:45 PM
Replies: 22
Views: 1,193
Posted By Klaivex
Unless, you know, a model with a base is in...

Unless, you know, a model with a base is in contact with it. Base contact and all. I like to use my archon personally.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-15-12, 07:35 AM
Replies: 22
Views: 1,193
Posted By Klaivex
None of my quadguns came with bases. Perhaps...

None of my quadguns came with bases. Perhaps yours are special.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-15-12, 05:25 AM
Replies: 22
Views: 1,193
Posted By Klaivex
Also on page 71: "As vehicles do not normally...

Also on page 71: "As vehicles do not normally have a base..."

Yes you measure to and from the hull like you do a base, but that does not make them pretty much the same thing. They do serve a...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-15-12, 04:40 AM
Replies: 22
Views: 1,193
Posted By Klaivex
I disagree with that on so many levels, but...

I disagree with that on so many levels, but simply the rule isn't that you have to be in pretty much base contact.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-15-12, 02:59 AM
Replies: 22
Views: 1,193
Posted By Klaivex
A rhino does not have a base, and therefore can...

A rhino does not have a base, and therefore can not be in base contact with a quad gun.

Most walkers, and skimmers however can, and there is no real getting around the silliness of what that...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-13-12, 06:47 PM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,136
Posted By Klaivex
I see what your saying, but based on just this...

I see what your saying, but based on just this thread alone, i have to disagree with that.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-13-12, 06:27 PM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,136
Posted By Klaivex
I never said the 4:1 made the 4 right. In this...

I never said the 4:1 made the 4 right. In this case, and in most cases the 4 will be right, but if a majority of people read a rule one way, and can back up the rule, and a single person interprets...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-13-12, 05:25 PM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,136
Posted By Klaivex
Says the 1 that everyone disagrees with... ...

Says the 1 that everyone disagrees with...


Its been said and ignored nearly a dozen times.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-12-12, 05:49 PM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,136
Posted By Klaivex
Best advice: If 4 people see it one way, and 1...

Best advice: If 4 people see it one way, and 1 person sees it the other way, go with the 4.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-12-12, 06:28 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,136
Posted By Klaivex
Illiterate and stubborn is no way to go through...

Illiterate and stubborn is no way to go through life. I wash my hand of this silliness.

I have given you several correct examples/quotes and you choose to ask for more. Hopefully someone else...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-12-12, 06:10 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,136
Posted By Klaivex
At this point, i don't know if you are illiterate...

At this point, i don't know if you are illiterate or a troll.

from the BRB:
While an IC is part of a unit, he counts as part of that unit for all rule purposes...

From WRL:
If the daemon is...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-12-12, 05:47 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,136
Posted By Klaivex
Perhaps you should learn the word paraphrasing. ...

Perhaps you should learn the word paraphrasing.

"Note that the unit is not affected by the shooting of the character in regard to which enemy they can assault in the ensuing assault phase."
...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-12-12, 05:38 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,136
Posted By Klaivex
Wow. Ok. First off no rules are being overruled....

Wow. Ok. First off no rules are being overruled. The WAL rule simply states what happens very clearly and without issue (except to you).

As i said before:

Unit shoots enemy A
IC with WAL in...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-12-12, 05:02 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,136
Posted By Klaivex
I have. you just choose to ignore it, or are...

I have. you just choose to ignore it, or are reading it incorrectly.



What makes up the unit? The unit and the joined IC.

Does the characters shooting affect who the unit as a whole can...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-12-12, 04:52 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,136
Posted By Klaivex
Again no. That is if he is by himself. ...

Again no.

That is if he is by himself.

If he is an IC and joins a unit, he becomes part of that unit for all purposes.

He can shoot at different targets because of WAL but it has no effect...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-12-12, 04:44 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,136
Posted By Klaivex
No. The IC with WAL can choose different...

No.

The IC with WAL can choose different targets from its unit's. That characters shooting has no effect on who the unit can charge.

so

Squad 1 w/ IC:

Squad 1 shoots at enemy A.
IC...
Forum: Wargaming News and 40k Rumors   12-11-12, 07:00 AM
Replies: 13
Views: 1,668
Posted By Klaivex
Clearly made to be Lady Malys, who come equipped...

Clearly made to be Lady Malys, who come equipped with a sword and steel fan.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-07-12, 03:07 PM
Replies: 10
Views: 640
Posted By Klaivex
Marines can "kind of" do that. You can put...

Marines can "kind of" do that.

You can put two 5 man combat squads (from the same squad) in a rhino and hop one squad out while the other stays in.

The end result is you have half in and half...
Forum: Modelling and Painting   12-07-12, 05:40 AM
Replies: 6
Views: 505
Posted By Klaivex
First attempt at necrons

Wanted to do something a bit different, so i went with a purple stippled effect.

http://i759.photobucket.com/albums/xx237/stevetastic/wh3.jpg...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 05:44 PM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
I proposed that it would in my first post and...

I proposed that it would in my first post and that in part started this beast of a thread.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 11:02 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
Agreed!

Agreed!
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 10:39 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
And you are suggesting that a unit that is...

And you are suggesting that a unit that is treated as something does not follow the rules of that thing.

You are also fabricating rules that do not exist such as, if its in an army it is a...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 10:35 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
Pile in moves follow the same rules as charge...

Pile in moves follow the same rules as charge moves. P23
Charging units must attempt to engage as many models in the enemy UNIT with as many of their models. P21

This is against the UNIT that the...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 10:27 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
"Treated as" is the only thing you have argued as...

"Treated as" is the only thing you have argued as well.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 10:02 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
Treated as is basically the same as counts as. ...

Treated as is basically the same as counts as.

Vulcan has the gauntlet of the forge which counts as a heavy flamer.

Is it a heavy flamer? No, its a gauntlet.

Does he make it twin linked...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 09:56 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
I agree it says that. I just don't think that...

I agree it says that. I just don't think that radically changes things as much as you do. If its treated as your units enemy, and the whole game is played with your units... its still an enemy and...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 09:48 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
They are unable to attack each other because AoC...

They are unable to attack each other because AoC are enemy units that you can not charge, shoot, target with psy powers, or place blast markes or templates on as per the words on P 112.

They can...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 09:39 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
He would, but he would not be engaged with...

He would, but he would not be engaged with Primary fred. If BigBaddieBob were to die the combat would end and both PrimaryFred and AoCJoe would get to make a consolidation.

There is no way that...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 09:16 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
Explain to me how one of your primary units can...

Explain to me how one of your primary units can get into base to base with an AoC WITHOUT charging it, as you can not charge an AoC and you can not move within one inch of an enemy unit except by...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 09:14 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
It does say just that... if you stop reading...

It does say just that... if you stop reading after that sentence.

If you continue it says:

"It is possible for all models in the TARGET UNIT to be hit wounded and killed, including those that...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 08:58 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
If you are rolling to hit against a unit, that is...

If you are rolling to hit against a unit, that is the only unit you can wound. You can not put excess wounds on to a separate unit that you are not engaged with.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 08:49 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
I agree its not a debate worth having... because...

I agree its not a debate worth having... because it is incorrect. You can not charge a AoC so you can not become B2B/engaged with them, thus you can not allocate wounds to them.

You can only...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 08:07 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
I just showed that in multiple close combats...

I just showed that in multiple close combats nothing happens?

And i must have misread the tone of your wording. Thought you were getting sassy so i got sassy as well. Sorry bout that. Internet...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 07:53 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
I obviously have as i have sited page #. ...

I obviously have as i have sited page #. Something i would still like to see you do to prove that it is in fact a rule and not an opinion.

They attack the enemy unit that they charged. You can...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 07:42 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
Treated as by you units is a long way from...

Treated as by you units is a long way from "Friendly."

The term "Enemy" can ONLY be applied to units. Your Ork or kroot or guardsmen, or whatever will never turn a gun on me personally. They...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 07:25 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
It does state very clearly that AoC are treated...

It does state very clearly that AoC are treated as enemy units to your units.

that is the only time it states that they are enemies.

it does list some examples of what that means following the...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 07:23 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
If it is as plain and simple as you say then...

If it is as plain and simple as you say then where does it say that all units in your army are friendly units?

It does not because that isn't true.

It makes sense when you think about it.
...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 07:06 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
It says that AoC are treated as enemy units to...

It says that AoC are treated as enemy units to your units.

If your unit is trying to hold an objective, and an enemy denial unit is within 3 inches the objective is denied. It does not say it has...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 06:53 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
Friendly or enemy has nothing to do with the...

Friendly or enemy has nothing to do with the ability to hold objectives.

I will write it just as it is from the book.



You CAN control an objective with an enemy unit as long as that enemy...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 06:46 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
i don't think there is? I agree that AoC...

i don't think there is?

I agree that AoC can control objectives. As I said and the book says, a scoring unit does not have to be a friendly unit to still control an objective.

Them being...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 06:21 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
I disagree whole heatedly. First on P 123 it...

I disagree whole heatedly.

First on P 123 it say one of your scoring units has to be be within 3 inches of an objective to control it, NOT a friendly scoring unit.

It then says if an ENEMY...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 06:10 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
Page 112: Under Allies of Convenience: ...

Page 112:

Under Allies of Convenience:

"Units in your army treat allies of Convenience as enemy units..."

"This means, for example allies of convenience units:

Are not treated as friendly...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 05:52 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
care to site a page where it says that AoC are...

care to site a page where it says that AoC are friendly units that are treated as enemy units?
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 03:51 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
The BRB does not back up that assumption.

The BRB does not back up that assumption.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 02:58 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
Servo skull are wargear that belong to a unit. ...

Servo skull are wargear that belong to a unit. Allies of convenience are considered enemies of that unit.

If an enemy unit moves within 6 inches of servo skull it blows up.

And you can move...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-21-12, 12:25 AM
Replies: 63
Views: 2,099
Posted By Klaivex
Allies of convenience are treated as enemy units....

Allies of convenience are treated as enemy units.

Servo skulls only help friendly units.

I would say not only does it not work, but if your blood angels get to close to it, the servo skull will...
Showing results 1 to 50 of 499

 
Forum Jump
 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome