Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Search Results
Advanced Search
Showing results 1 to 50 of 500
Search took 0.23 seconds.
Search: Posts Made By: don_mondo
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   09-14-14, 12:43 AM
Replies: 19
Views: 9,444
Posted By don_mondo
This, exactly.

This, exactly.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   09-13-14, 04:17 PM
Replies: 22
Views: 3,655
Posted By don_mondo
If it could not be placed without covering a...

If it could not be placed without covering a model that was locked in hth, then yes, I would insist that they play by the rules and would deny them the shot. They should have planned and moved better.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   09-13-14, 04:16 PM
Replies: 19
Views: 9,444
Posted By don_mondo
Note that you (the challenger) do not get to...

Note that you (the challenger) do not get to pick out who you challenge. The defender chooses from amongst the eligible characters (ie engaged) and can use any one of them to accept the challenge....
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   09-13-14, 12:31 PM
Replies: 19
Views: 9,444
Posted By don_mondo
I'll disagree. The models in the challenge no...

I'll disagree. The models in the challenge no longer have the statement that they are considered to be in btb only with each other. So the squad is engaged if they are within 2" of the model in the...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   09-13-14, 12:26 PM
Replies: 22
Views: 3,655
Posted By don_mondo
What, your hand slipped while placing it? C'mon,...

What, your hand slipped while placing it? C'mon, you know what the 'deliberately there means. 'Cannot' trumps 'must', so you cannot place it over models locked in combat, even tho you must cover the...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   09-13-14, 12:22 PM
Replies: 22
Views: 3,655
Posted By don_mondo
Wasn't being 'snide', was just pointing out that...

Wasn't being 'snide', was just pointing out that you posted the rule that disallows placing the template over models locked in combat. And no, wouldn't 'deny' the opportunity, just wouldn't let him...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   09-13-14, 12:09 AM
Replies: 22
Views: 3,655
Posted By don_mondo
No, the rulebook says that the template "cannot...

No, the rulebook says that the template "cannot be deliberately placed such that they cover any models locked in combat". See the difference between that and targeting the unit? BTW, the above...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   09-12-14, 08:01 PM
Replies: 22
Views: 3,655
Posted By don_mondo
Ntaw, You point it out yourself, the blast marker...

Ntaw, You point it out yourself, the blast marker or template cannot be deliberately placed as to cover any model locked in combat but it can scatter. So when we get a weapon where the flamer...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   09-12-14, 03:26 PM
Replies: 22
Views: 3,655
Posted By don_mondo
No, you cannot. "Locked in Combet" states that...

No, you cannot. "Locked in Combet" states that blast markers and templates may not be placed so that they cover ANY models locked in combat.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   09-08-14, 04:00 PM
Replies: 5
Views: 1,813
Posted By don_mondo
Yes, it is a multiple barrage. Each (undamaged)...

Yes, it is a multiple barrage. Each (undamaged) vehicle fires four small blasts, if in a squadron you could have up to 12 blasts. First is the only one that scatters 2d6 (possibly -BS depending on...
Forum: General 40k   09-04-14, 07:57 PM
Replies: 41
Views: 4,272
Posted By don_mondo
FYI, lots of Necromunda resources here: ...

FYI, lots of Necromunda resources here:

http://www.wargamerau.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=79749

Unfortunately, no main rules.
Forum: General 40k   09-04-14, 01:42 PM
Replies: 41
Views: 4,272
Posted By don_mondo
Necromunda rulebook used to be available online...

Necromunda rulebook used to be available online at the GW specialist site. Let me know if you can't find it...
Forum: General 40k   09-04-14, 01:38 PM
Replies: 41
Views: 4,272
Posted By don_mondo
1. Yep, Delaque gangers from Necromunda 2. Yep,...

1. Yep, Delaque gangers from Necromunda
2. Yep, Tallarn IG
3. Goliath gangers from Necromunda
4. Cawdor gangers from Necromunda, looks like there might be one pit slave in there as well
5. Van...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   09-03-14, 07:01 PM
Replies: 6
Views: 2,653
Posted By don_mondo
Logic? How dare you use logic in this game?! But...

Logic? How dare you use logic in this game?! But yeah, overlapping bases are a no-no, same with the terrain test bit.

However, Wobbly Model Syndrome covers that tailfin perch.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   09-03-14, 01:56 PM
Replies: 4
Views: 560
Posted By don_mondo
Which bonus are you referring to? Objective...

Which bonus are you referring to? Objective Secured? If so, then the answer is that GK using the Nemesis Strike Force do not gain Objective Secured. They have their own 'bonuses' (Command Benefits)...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   09-03-14, 01:49 PM
Replies: 6
Views: 2,653
Posted By don_mondo
To add to the above answers. 2. Bear in...

To add to the above answers.

2. Bear in mind, cover is on a model-by-model basis. So if that one model is touching the ruin and the rest of the unit is outside, they get no cover save.

8....
Forum: General 40k   08-27-14, 08:41 PM
Replies: 4
Views: 938
Posted By don_mondo
Glad to help, just happened to see it here first...

Glad to help, just happened to see it here first (I'm on Warseer as well, same name) so replied to it here and didn't mess with it there.
Forum: General 40k   08-27-14, 04:12 PM
Replies: 4
Views: 938
Posted By don_mondo
Yep, as long as all it says is 'friendly unit',...

Yep, as long as all it says is 'friendly unit', then it's good.

These are the ones I'm seeing that would work from the main rulebook. May have missed some. Prescience, Forewarning (4+invul),...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   08-27-14, 02:10 PM
Replies: 12
Views: 1,053
Posted By don_mondo
Knights can still be your Primary Detachment (per...

Knights can still be your Primary Detachment (per the FAQ), but you need to take three of them to do so. Or if taking only one, it can be your Warlord (and hence your Primary Detachment) only if you...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   08-18-14, 06:18 PM
Replies: 13
Views: 1,382
Posted By don_mondo
Misfortune and a Guard blob rapid firing with...

Misfortune and a Guard blob rapid firing with First Rank, Second Rank....
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   08-04-14, 04:54 PM
Replies: 14
Views: 1,147
Posted By don_mondo
Basically, the label "Allies Matrix" is, IMO, a...

Basically, the label "Allies Matrix" is, IMO, a misnomer as it has nothing whatsoever to do with Allied Detachments.

Page 126:
"You can include models from any number of different Factions...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   08-04-14, 12:25 PM
Replies: 14
Views: 1,147
Posted By don_mondo
That's what I originally thought as well, but...

That's what I originally thought as well, but check the phrasing on the allies chart. Seems to apply to any unit, regardless of how they come to be in your army. I'll get to my book later and post...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   07-28-14, 12:58 PM
Replies: 14
Views: 1,147
Posted By don_mondo
Also, if using IG to summon daemons, the...

Also, if using IG to summon daemons, the Wyrdvanes are your best bet due to Brotherhoof of Psykers. Generally, when you peril, you will only lose one member of the squad so still have a useful...
Forum: General 40k   07-23-14, 03:15 PM
Replies: 58
Views: 20,508
Posted By don_mondo
13th Arkiv'l Regiment RT era models (ie from...

13th Arkiv'l Regiment
RT era models (ie from the Archives)

1st Lustrian Regiment
Yes, a Lizardman IG army, with poison arrow frog sentinels, turtle shell tanks and a stegadon basilisk.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   07-17-14, 06:17 PM
Replies: 4
Views: 701
Posted By don_mondo
Well, there is also this line in the 7th ed...

Well, there is also this line in the 7th ed rules, page 80, Transports, Embarking, first paragraph, last sentence:
"If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   07-17-14, 06:10 PM
Replies: 19
Views: 1,115
Posted By don_mondo
Yes, they did. Also used d4, d8, d10 and of...

Yes, they did. Also used d4, d8, d10 and of course d6. Course, back then certain weapons could cause more than one wound, like a Heavy Bolter hit did d4 wounds and a Lascannon did d10 wounds.

...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   07-16-14, 06:56 PM
Replies: 7
Views: 2,465
Posted By don_mondo
Nope, sorry. They cannot assault on the turn they...

Nope, sorry. They cannot assault on the turn they are summoned.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   06-30-14, 03:55 PM
Replies: 17
Views: 1,390
Posted By don_mondo
OK, maybe I'm misunderstanding your statement...

OK, maybe I'm misunderstanding your statement then, if you think we're saying the same thing. I'm not talking about IA or dataslates or any additional stuff. I'm talking about a single Combined Arms...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   06-29-14, 10:27 PM
Replies: 17
Views: 1,390
Posted By don_mondo
1. No. Do not have to be from the same...

1. No. Do not have to be from the same book/supplement. Everything in it must be from the same FACTION. Also note that it's still a CAD, just happens to be the one you chose as your primary and has...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   06-27-14, 02:46 PM
Replies: 6
Views: 413
Posted By don_mondo
Without knowing what your "old codex" is it is...

Without knowing what your "old codex" is it is hard to answer your question. I would recommend checking the FAQs to see if your psykers still have access to their codex powers or not. They are...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   06-25-14, 04:50 PM
Replies: 17
Views: 1,390
Posted By don_mondo
You could argue it. You would be wrong but you...

You could argue it. You would be wrong but you could argue it. With the new force organization allowing multiple CADs in a single list, and allowing those CADs to be from any codex, that's an Ally. ...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   06-25-14, 04:01 PM
Replies: 17
Views: 1,390
Posted By don_mondo
Yep, Space Marines FAQ changes their Allies...

Yep, Space Marines FAQ changes their Allies section on page 77 of the codex, "Space Marines can be taken in an Allied Detachment even if your army's Primary Detachment contains units with the Space...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   06-25-14, 12:15 PM
Replies: 17
Views: 1,390
Posted By don_mondo
OK, couple points to make. 1. Armies of the...

OK, couple points to make.

1. Armies of the Imperium is NOT a Faction, it is a collection of factions into a single group, I'm assuming because they didn't want to list them all in the Allies...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   03-06-14, 07:46 PM
Replies: 24
Views: 1,355
Posted By don_mondo
Problem with that idea is that due to the...

Problem with that idea is that due to the vagaries of the dice, fate is never sealed. I have had two standard IG guardsmen defeat an Archon with incubi retinue in close combat due to dice. Besides,...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   03-06-14, 12:41 PM
Replies: 13
Views: 780
Posted By don_mondo
IG FAQ, last page: Q: If a Manticore...

IG FAQ, last page:

Q: If a Manticore suffers a Weapon Destroyed result, does it destroy
all its remaining storm eagle rockets? (p54)

A: Yes.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   03-06-14, 12:37 PM
Replies: 24
Views: 1,355
Posted By don_mondo
And yet, once upon a time, we were allowed to...

And yet, once upon a time, we were allowed to shoot into close combat, randomize the hits between the units involved, etc etc. As an IG player myself, it irks me that a single solitary guardsman...
Forum: Wargaming Clubs   02-19-14, 02:22 AM
Replies: 0
Views: 1,440
Posted By don_mondo
Iron Fist League, Woodbridge, VA

New forum address (http://www.ironfistleague.org/forums). 40K, Warmachine, Dystopian Wars, Flames of War and willing to try about anything game wise. Check out the forum and if you'er in the area,...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-18-12, 04:29 AM
Replies: 13
Views: 751
Posted By don_mondo
And originally from the same squad.

And originally from the same squad.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-15-12, 01:43 PM
Replies: 4
Views: 545
Posted By don_mondo
Unless the targeted model is a character and uses...

Unless the targeted model is a character and uses Look Out Sir to push the wound onto the drone, then it (targeted model) has to take the wound on it's own save. Drones don't absorb wounds anymore,...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-08-12, 01:12 PM
Replies: 3
Views: 1,789
Posted By don_mondo
Hydras are a good example for this. They have...

Hydras are a good example for this. They have skyfire for the autcannons but do not have Interceptor. So when shooting at skyfire-eligible targets, they get to use full BS. When shooting at anything...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-08-12, 01:09 PM
Replies: 10
Views: 635
Posted By don_mondo
No biggie, we all make them.

No biggie, we all make them.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-07-12, 06:56 PM
Replies: 10
Views: 635
Posted By don_mondo
Just bear in mind that you have to declare they...

Just bear in mind that you have to declare they are going to combat squad at tdeployment, you can't decide to do it later in the game.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   12-07-12, 01:39 PM
Replies: 10
Views: 635
Posted By don_mondo
Yes a unit can sometimes take a transport that...

Yes a unit can sometimes take a transport that the unit is not able to embark into. Sometimes it can nly take transports taht it will fit into. This is pretty much codex and/or unit specific. ...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-30-12, 03:23 PM
Replies: 5
Views: 467
Posted By don_mondo
Pertinent FAQ, GK FAQ: Q: Does a Nemesis...

Pertinent FAQ, GK FAQ:

Q: Does a Nemesis Dreadknight armed with a Nemesis greatsword have
4 Attacks at Strength 10 that, because of the Nemesis greatsword, can
re-roll To Hit, To Wound and...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-28-12, 04:59 PM
Replies: 14
Views: 994
Posted By don_mondo
Yep, I've done just that to a CronAir army. But...

Yep, I've done just that to a CronAir army. But with a Pod OR Deathwing army that's not a problem. Just let your opponent go first and then bring in half your pods or half your Deathwing and game on....
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-27-12, 11:55 AM
Replies: 50
Views: 2,202
Posted By don_mondo
Ahem, cats are above and beyond the rules of us...

Ahem, cats are above and beyond the rules of us mere mortals.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-27-12, 11:53 AM
Replies: 14
Views: 994
Posted By don_mondo
Actually, it is possible to build an army where...

Actually, it is possible to build an army where everything can start in reserves. Remember, units embarked inside of any transport that must start in reserves do not count towards what you must...
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-27-12, 11:48 AM
Replies: 221
Views: 6,239
Posted By don_mondo
One point tho, IIRC you cannot assault the turn...

One point tho, IIRC you cannot assault the turn you arrive from reserves.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   11-18-12, 06:42 PM
Replies: 50
Views: 2,202
Posted By don_mondo
You've got that reversed. The actual way to do it...

You've got that reversed. The actual way to do it is that if if doesn't say you can, then you cannot. Do NOT go by what it doesn't say you can't.
Forum: 40k Rules Discussion   10-31-12, 05:28 PM
Replies: 39
Views: 2,210
Posted By don_mondo
Reading comprehension for the win!

Reading comprehension for the win!
Showing results 1 to 50 of 500

 
Forum Jump
 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome