Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

The Host of Worms

31K views 196 replies 60 participants last post by  notsoevil 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
I'm new to 40k (I've yet to play even a demo of 5th edition), but have been a long time fan of Nurgle.

I'm not going Deathguard simply because I want the greatest range of models/vehicles to convert.

The Host of Worms (aka The Host).

Complete with my own insignia:

Chaos Lord: Mathas Skolik, the Infested

Daemon Prince: Lumbricus, The Bloated

Daemon Prince: Omunyongororwa, Sower of Maggots

Great Unclean One: Uod, the Grubfather

Patron God (unmodelled of course): Shallagia, Goat Mother of a Thousand Worms, Bride of Nurgle, Nursemaiden of Woe

First up, WIP shots for my Lord of Pestilence model from Ultraforge.

I asked previously about giving him a jump pack instead of typical daemon wings, simply because his model screams "I'm a giant bloated space marine".

I started with two caps from superglue bottles, which I might add actually looks great as the basis for a jump pack ...

... but it doesn't fit his style.

Onward, I've had this Tyranid something-or-other carapace for a long time. I kept it because it looks pretty Nurgly to me. So, why not use it as the housing for the jet pack. And just so happens, some plastic tubing I have fits perfectly.

Looks great from the back, but I'm not so sure I like how it affects his silhouette from the side and front. I think I may scrap the carapace, but keep the "organic jump pack" idea. Or maybe I'll just grind on the carapace for a while to reduce the turtle-effect:

See less See more
#2 ·
Carapace is ditched. Too beefy.

Here is the first stage which includes:

1) Flared ends for a jetpack meets tube-worm appearance.
2) Broken armor plates on the shoulders to show how this essentially burst from his back
3) The beginnings of the flesh work and organic-fication of the jump pack.