Space Marines - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Project Logs This forum is dedicated to discussing and displaying your works in progress.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 11-06-11, 07:31 PM Thread Starter

dborgeslfc's Flag is: USA

Default Space Marines

Ok, so I love that I can document my progress on here, so that's exactly what I'm going to do. Keep in mind, I am completely new at this, and I know I have a lot of improvement to do.

I've started with Space Marines as my very first 40k army, and so far I love it. My roommates are also getting started (you'll see a guest appearance by some Tyranids in one of the photos) and we've been having a blast painting together. I have about 1000 points from the Black Reach set and also the SM Battleforce, and I decided to go with an Ultramarines color scheme, even though in the end this army won't be Ultramarines. (Perhaps a successor chapter of theirs with many similarities, though.) I also haven't done anything with the bases yet, and I'm not sure I will. I like pretending the bases aren't there, and adding stuff to them sometimes looks cluttered. But who knows. (You can also see the progress that I have been making on painting the terrain in the attached photos.)

A few questions I have for anyone that wishes to help though: What is the best way to paint insignia? You'll notice my marines don't have any, and that's partly because I don't know what they are yet, and partly because I such at doing details freehand. Any tips on painting on squad numbers, etc would be appreciated. I'd rather not use decals.

I'm also pretty happy with the color, but it does look a little flat. (Ultramarines blue over Mordian blue) Any suggestions on washes that I can use to perhaps highlight the color and give more detail?

Also, any tips on sealing the figures somehow once they're complete? I'd like to protect them once they're finished, and I'm not sure how to do that.