Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums

Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/)
-   40k Rules Discussion (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/17-40k-rules-discussion/)
-   -   How in the world do invulnerable saves work? (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/40k-rules-discussion/94694-how-world-do-invulnerable-saves-work.html)

Jozmaster 07-21-11 04:28 PM

How in the world do invulnerable saves work?

Hey there, I'm new to this game and have a question regarding a thing explained rather vague in the rulebook IMO; Invulnerable saves.

Do they work as an additional armor save? Are they optionally used instead of armor saves? I can't wrap my head around it.
Could someone please explain?

kickboxerdog 07-21-11 04:36 PM

with saves you either get a armour save or invunrable save, so if a weapon allows a aomour save you just get that but some weapons can ignore your armour, this is when a invunrable save comes into play( you dont get to make a armour save and a invunrable save)

most armour saves are better than invunrable saves so if your allowed a armour save you would always take that

arlins 07-21-11 04:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jozmaster (Post 1030371)
Hey there, I'm new to this game and have a question regarding a thing explained rather vague in the rulebook IMO; Invulnerable saves.

Do they work as an additional armor save? Are they optionally used instead of armor saves? I can't wrap my head around it.
Could someone please explain?

take a space marine terminator , he has a 2+ armour save OR a 5+ invunarable save .
If you shot him with a bolt pistol he would use his armour save as a bolt pistol is only AP 5 and his armour save is better .
If you shot him with a AP1 melta which would ignore his armour save , then you would use his invunarable save .

Jozmaster 07-21-11 04:42 PM

Ah, thank you so much guys! This explains a whole lot. This has been bugging me for a long time.

Ihateyou7777 08-14-18 02:49 AM

Umm