Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums

Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/)
-   40k Rules Discussion (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/17-40k-rules-discussion/)
-   -   Questions... a lot of questions... (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/40k-rules-discussion/5873-questions-lot-questions.html)

Actarus 02-18-08 12:04 PM

Questions... a lot of questions...
 
We played during the weekend a good scenario and the Tau won again, but not without a sweet??? There were a lot of confusion about some rules but we came to a compromse.

Q.1 Can a Tau Commander be a independant character even with Drones...?

Q.2 Can a montrous creature go up and down in a building even if his base is twice the size of the place where he is suppose to stand and can't fit in between floors...??

Q.3 A beast with LEAPING can move 3D6, but what if there is difficult terrain in between, does he move with the better result of 3d6 as normal or with the result times 2???

thanks and more questions to follow!!!

Silb 02-18-08 12:08 PM

For question 2, unless a rule specifically says otherwise, I'd say the monstrous creature can. Maybe you can imagine that it's balancing itself on one leg.

Bishop120 02-18-08 12:19 PM

Question 1: Yes and No... he can be picked out independantly as if he were his own unit for the purposes of shooting at him but he may still join and leave other units freely and fights indepedantly in CC on his own.

Questions 2: Yes. There are no rules about the ground having to be as big or bigger than the base of your models. Yes a carnifex could theoretically stand at the top of a very big building even if the floor was very small.

Question 3: Leaping only gives them a fast charge of 12" but they DO NOT become beasts.. ergo they are still slowed in the normal fashion by difficult terrain and do not recieve any special benefits while slowed... ergo still 2D6 and take the highest. This is a generic answer and can change depending upon which Tyranid is givin this morph. Can you be more specific??

Actarus 02-18-08 12:34 PM

A tyranid warrior with leaping biomorph abilities is able to charged at 12 inches instead of 6... What about difficult terrain?? Sorry I just take to the owner of the tyranid!!!

Actarus 02-18-08 12:39 PM

Q.4 Can a tyrannid warrior go through a door even if he does'nt fit throught it??? I know that a montrous creature just gonna make one!!!

Bishop120 02-18-08 12:43 PM

The warrior w/ leaping becomes slowed by difficult terrain just like every body else. As he is a Tyranid he gets move through cover and may roll 3D6 instead of 2D6 like normal. He rolls 3D6 and takes the highest and may essentially move a max of 6 inches in difficult terrain. The reason for this is that it states in the leaping special rules specifically that the creature doesnot become a "beast" which is where they loose the ability to double the result of the roll. Per the Leaping rule though they may still make attacks when within 3" of a friendly model rather than the normal 2". Hope that clarifies things for your friend.

CATzeentch 02-18-08 12:43 PM

well the terrain is difficult to describe. the base that it is usually on is a marker for basically a giant pile of rubble(city fight). The fancy doors and stairs and what not is so models can fit on it. So it can fit through a door or on a certain level because the building is just for looks.(assuming you were playing sities of death)
This is of course for area terrain so hopefully you understand.

Bishop120 02-18-08 12:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Actarus (Post 66787)
Q.4 Can a tyrannid warrior go through a door even if he does'nt fit throught it??? I know that a montrous creature just gonna make one!!!

That depends entirely on how you aggreed to play the terrain with your opponent. If the terrain is being played as "area terrain" then yes he may move through it. If it is being played as "WYSIWIG or What You See Is What You Get" then no. Its best to agree on the effects of terrain before you begin the game. I would read pages 16 and 17 of the BGB to get a good idea on the effects of everything and judge for yourself.

maxtangent 02-18-08 01:11 PM

Even if you agree to disallow it, remember that you can take Flesh Hooks on a 'Fex - that means it could scale the outside of a building (impassable vertical terrain) as if it were Difficult Terrain (while still benefiting from the 'Moves through cover' rule).

Actarus 02-18-08 01:13 PM

Q.5 When there is a weapons destroyed on a vehicule, is it the owner who decide what is destroyed or the opponent??? And is it automaticely the strongest weapons and down...


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:25 PM.

Powered by the Emperor of Man.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome