Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums

Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/)
-   40k Tactics (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/15-40k-tactics/)
-   -   Black Templars, Right for me? (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/40k-tactics/29396-black-templars-right-me.html)

Oodles 02-24-09 11:18 AM

Black Templars, Right for me?

Hi all, I'm new to 40k and want to make a Space Marine army. After reading what info i could get and the fact that my friend has a Space Wolves army and have heard Blood angels are over done(sorry to blood angel lovers), I want to make a black templar based chapter. I'm going to paint them similar to what my Avatar pic looks like and will, in time have made a background story as i love to imerse myself in fantasy, BUT, are the Black Templars battle tactics right for me? I want to Base my army around the use of Marine squads assisted by Scout Squads. Terminators and Dreadnaughts.

Thanks for any and all help. Feel free to state your case for any other chapter as i want to find the right ary for me.

bishop5 02-24-09 11:24 AM

Don't have the BT codex but from what I can gather they don't have scouts, their scouts are part of their 'tactical' squads.

I's say use the new Codex: Space Marines; you can make some nice army lists out of that plus you get access to updated versions of the weapons (i.e. Cyclone Missiles, etc) - You can also take the Master of the Forge to allow you to take up to 6 Dreadnoughts (correct me if i'm wrong on that one)

Oodles 02-24-09 11:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bishop5 (Post 313089)
You can also take the Master of the Forge to allow you to take up to 6 Dreadnoughts (correct me if i'm wrong on that one)

I hope your right because that many dreadnaughts means alot of flat enemies!!!! lol

Tossidin 02-24-09 11:37 AM

It is true.
You can take 3 dreadnoughts as heavy support + the normal 3 in elites when you have MAster of the forge in the army, if I remember right :)