Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums

Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/)
-   Wargaming News and 40k Rumors (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/34-wargaming-news-40k-rumors/)
-   -   "Agents of the Imperium" FAQ Drafts Online (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/wargaming-news-40k-rumors/206250-agents-imperium-faq-drafts-online.html)

Zion 05-18-16 05:43 PM

"Agents of the Imperium" FAQ Drafts Online
 
As before don't forget that clarification questions, or other submissions need to also be posted on the Facebook page under the images so the rules team can address it: https://www.facebook.com/permalink.p...75682476085719

Quote:

Hey guys,
We have the next round of Codex FAQ first drafts ready for your feedback.
It's agents of the Imperium this week — The Militarum Tempestus, Adepta Sororitas, Imperial Assassins and the Inquisition.
Now its over to you guys, here’s what you need to do:
– Read through this draft FAQ
– If you think any answers need clarification, post up a comment on the relevant image
– Make sure your question is concisely written, and in plain English
Do the answers all make sense? Are they clear? Do they throw up any more potential issues?
(We’re looking primarily for whether you understand them, rather than if you like the answer.)
You have a week to get your comments in, then we’ll pass on your comments to the rules guys for the final FAQs.
We’ll be posting more FAQ drafts for feedback over the new few weeks, so if you’re eagerly awaiting the one for your codex, don’t worry, we’re on it.
Finally, we wanted to say thanks again to all of you who sent in our questions, to help make this game well all love even better.
Here’s a link to the original books:
Codex: Militarum Tempestus (paperback)
https://www.games-workshop.com/Codex-Militarum-Tempestus-So…
Codex: Inquisition (eBook)
http://www.blacklibrary.com/…/Codex-Inquisition-eBook-_Edit…
Codex: Adepta Sororitas (eBook)
http://www.blacklibrary.com/al…/Codex-Adepta-Sororitas.html…
Dataslate: Officio Assassinorum (eBook)
http://www.blacklibrary.com/…/dataslate-officio-assassinoru…
Quote:

https://scontent-sea1-1.xx.fbcdn.net...99&oe=57E6C928

Q: If Saint Celestine dies and passes her Miraculous Intervention special rule Leadership check to return to the board next turn, but the game ends, does she award Victory Points?

A: Yes – a model that is not on the board at the end of the game counts as destroyed for the purposes of Victory Points.

Q: Do rules that modify a model’s statistic apply when that model is ‘dead’? For example, items or rules that alter Leadership when rolling to see if Saint Celestine passes her Miraculous Intervention check to come back to the battlefield.

A: No.

Q: How many models can shoot out of the firing hatch on the roof of the Immolator?

A: One model can fire from the Immolator’s top hatch.

Q: In Codex: Adepta Sororitas, there are three Apocalypse Battle Formations. The codex was written a while ago and things have changed quite a bit in the game. Can I use those formations in regular, non-Apocalypse games?

A: No.

Q: Can a Canoness take more than one relic?

A: A Canoness can only take a single relic.

Q: It is not stated what kind of weapon the Exorcist missile launcher is. Is it a turret-mounted weapon or a hull-mounted weapon?

A: It’s a turret-mounted weapon.

Q: The eviscerator is listed in the wargear section as being available for the ‘Canoness and Ministorum Priest only’, while under the Melee Weapons list/pop-up on the Canoness’ and Priest’s pages it says ‘Ministorum Priest only’. Which is correct?

A: The text in the Melee Weapons pop-up is incorrect; an eviscerator can be taken by a Canoness or a Ministorum Priest.

Q: What part of the Adepta Sororitas’ Exorcist tanks do you use to check line of sight for the Exorcist missile launcher?

A: From any part of the missile tubes.

ERRATA
CODEX: ADEPTA SORORITAS

Reliquary Ministorum, Ranged Weapons, Condemnor Boltgun and Reference, Special Rules

Replace the wording of the Psi-shock special rule with the following:
‘If a unit containing at least one Psyker (i.e. a model with the Psyker, Brotherhood of Psykers/Sorcerers or Psychic Pilot special rule) is hit by a weapon with the Psi-shock special rule, one randomly determined Psyker model in that unit suffers Perils of the Warp in addition to any other damage.’

https://scontent-sea1-1.xx.fbcdn.net...a8&oe=57DAE05B

Q: If a unit that is embarked in a Transport arrives from Reserves within 12" of Inquisitor Coteaz and then disembarks, can I use the I’ve Been Expecting You special rule to shoot both the unit and its Transport, or can I only shoot the Transport?

A: You can shoot both. Shoot the Transport as soon as it arrives from Reserves and shoot the unit as soon as it disembarks (if it does so within 12" of Coteaz, and within his line of sight).

Q: Regarding Inquisitor Coteaz’s I’ve Been Expecting You special rule – if you destroy a Transport, can you shoot at the unit that was inside as well?

A: Yes, if the unit is placed within 12" of Coteaz when they perform their emergency disembarkation.

Q: In Codex: Inquisition, the psyocculum grants the bearer and his unit Ballistic Skill 10 when shooting Psykers – does this apply before or after you count your Ballistic Skill as 1 for firing Snap Shots at, for example, a Swooping Hive Tyrant?

A: The rules for firing Snap Shots take precedence in this case; the unit’s Ballistic Skill is increased to 10, but when firing Snap Shots, their Ballistic Skill still counts as being 1.

Q: Do Inquisitors suffer Perils of the Warp on any double results when attempting to manifest Daemonology (Sanctic) powers?

A: Yes.

Q: Can we get a clarification on what counts as a plasma weapon for an Ulumeathi Plasma Syphon in Codex: Inquisition, please?

A: All plasma weapons as defined in Warhammer 40,000: The Rules (plasma pistols, plasma guns and plasma cannons), the secondary weapon of a combi-plasma, and plasma grenades are all plasma weapons. Any other weapon whose name has the word ‘plasma’ in it (such as a Tau Empire plasma rifle) is also a plasma weapon for the purposes of an Ulumeathi Plasma Syphon.

Q: If you take the Inquisitorial Detachment as your Primary Detachment, are Inquisitorial Henchmen Warbands scoring units?

A: Yes – all units in Codex: Inquisition are scoring units (unless they are Falling Back), irrespective of whether the detachment they are part of is your primary detachment or not.

Q: If I use psychotroke grenades against a Super-heavy Walker (an Imperial Knight, for example), a roll of 2 limits the model to one attack – does it affect Stomp attacks in any way?

A: It does not affect the model’s ability to Stomp.

ERRATA
CODEX: INQUISITION
Condemnor Boltgun and Orbital Strike Relay, and Reference, Special Rules
Replace the wording of the Psi-shock special rule with the following:
‘If a unit containing at least one Psyker (i.e. a model with the Psyker, Brotherhood of Psykers/Sorcerers or Psychic Pilot special rule) is hit by a weapon with the Psi-shock special rule, one randomly determined Psyker model in that unit suffers Perils of the Warp in addition to any other damage.’

https://scontent-sea1-1.xx.fbcdn.net...68&oe=579DB047

Q: Can I use Commissar Yarrick from Codex: Astra Militarum as my Lord Commissar in a Codex: Militarum Tempestus army? I want to add Tempestus Scions as Yarrick’s personal guard force, his security team if you will.

A: Commissar Yarrick isn’t part of the the Militarum Tempestus Faction, so he can’t be part of a Militarum Tempestus Detachment in a Battle-forged army. Codex: Astra Militarum includes all the necessary rules for using your Tempestus Scions in an army with Yarrick.

https://scontent-sea1-1.xx.fbcdn.net...04&oe=57CECE33

Q: When a Culexus Assassin fires their animus speculum, can they gain dice through the Absorbed Warp Charge special rule from any Psykers embarked on a Transport within range?

A: No.

Q: A Culexus Assassin’s Psychic Abomination special rule says that nearby Psykers only harness Warp Charge points on a 6, but some Psykers, like those in a Seer Council Formation, have special rules that let them harness Warp Charge points on a 3+. Which rule takes precedence?

A: In these cases, the Culexus Assassin’s Psychic Abomination special rule takes precedence.

Q: Does the Culexus Assassin’s Psychic Abomination special rule work whilst it is inside a Transport?

A: No.

Q: Does the Culexus Assassin’s etherium negate Ballistic Skill bonuses (e.g. markerlight’s pinpoint, the Hunter Contingent Detachment’s Coordinated Firepower, etc.)?

A: Yes.

MidnightSun 05-18-16 05:58 PM

Since we got Adeptus Mechanicus and Agents of the Imperium, I hope we get Astra Militarum next :victory:

On-topic, the Culexus being a big ol' 'fuck you' to Markerlights is fun and confirmation that he can't sit in a transport and screw up psykers with that is a pretty good change, Coteaz is I guess slightly buffed (I've literally never seen I've Been Expecting You actually work - nobody's been stupid enough to risk it - but blowing up a Raider and then getting to take a pop at the Wraithguard inside is pretty cool. Don't think it matters for anything else though). Plasma Siphon gets expanded out a *little bit*, but still garbage, and a tad arbitrary on what counts as plasma (Bio-Plasma bad, Starcannon good?). Sisters of Battle stuff is kind of hooray, maybe? I'm sure the three Sisters players can give a better opinion. Immolators getting a fire point is cool for added burnination. Tempestus Scions FAQ clarifies that if you're a big dumb idiot with a moron face, you probably shouldn't ask your big dumb idiot questions.

Zion 05-18-16 07:23 PM

Condemor Boltguns got better (Perils just for hitting) and the Exorcist turned into a nastier tank with the 360 degree shooting while being able to do so while hull down.

Immo spam is an option for Sisters players now too thanks to the return of the firepoint.

ntaw 05-18-16 08:38 PM

It's nice to see that they're getting stuff going on the small order Codices. Curious to see how big some of the full Codex FAQs get.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MidnightSun (Post 2337098)
I've literally never seen I've Been Expecting You actually work - nobody's been stupid enough to risk it

Not even in this age of assault from Deep Strike?

Quote:

Originally Posted by MidnightSun (Post 2337098)
Since we got Adeptus Mechanicus and Agents of the Imperium, I hope we get Astra Militarum next

Bodes well for mah Blood Angels! All the guys I play with are happy to let me use SM stat lines but I eschew the opportunity because of my distaste for altering rules to suit the player. It will be nice for it to be official.

Shandathe 05-19-16 07:29 AM

Huh. Immolator gets a buff, unexpected... especially since it's still unavailable. Calling it now that the Razorback is going to get the same. Emperor forbid that the Sisters have a better toy than the Space Marines, never mind that it costs 10 points more.

The rest is mostly clarification of things already expected... Relics for instance. Canonesses kicking ass and taking names is just not going to happen in the current Codex, as far as I can tell the Command Squad and its Banner are really the only reason to bring one. Celestine and Battle Santa are just better value overall :(

The new version of Psi-shock does actually make a Condemnor worth considering, I feel. Still very situational compared to an additional Meltagun, but it's distinctly more usable now.

@MidnightSun , I've Been Expecting You works just fine I think. It's fantastic Area Denial against deep strikes ruining your day... Nobody wanting to risk it is the entire point :)

Silly question, but speaking of Inquisitor Coteaz, didn't he have a rule to make everything Inquisition scoring units? What's the point of that if "all units in Codex: Inquisition are scoring units"? Did I miss a Codex update or did they just buff Inquisition overall a bit with this?

Psychotroke grenades against (superheavy) Walkers: Bit of a WTF moment for me as it never occurred to me they'd even WORK on vehicles. But (superheavy) walkers do appear to be fair game. Dammit Mechanicus, lemme teach you about air filters...

I'm vaguely amused that every Q&A on the Assassins is for the Culexus, and all the other ones need no clarification...

ntaw 05-19-16 12:27 PM

Vindicare needs clarification onthe D3 wounds one. Maybe I'll post it up....

Iraqiel 05-19-16 02:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shandathe (Post 2337266)
Silly question, but speaking of Inquisitor Coteaz, didn't he have a rule to make everything Inquisition scoring units? What's the point of that if "all units in Codex: Inquisition are scoring units"? Did I miss a Codex update or did they just buff Inquisition overall a bit with this?

In this edition, almost everything is a scoring unit. The rule that you are thinking of comes from teh previous entry in Codex: GK, where Coteaz was lord of the 6th Ed Inquisitorial army. Under 7th, that's no longer relevant.

Zion 05-19-16 03:15 PM

The Razorback won't copy the Inmolator's firepoint thing. Immolator has a hatch on the back and a front mounted gun vs the Razorback's lack of hatch and rear mounted gun.

Plus we already pay a premium on toys. Marine pricing +extra points for Shield of Faith.

MidnightSun 05-19-16 06:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shandathe (Post 2337266)
@MidnightSun , I've Been Expecting You works just fine I think. It's fantastic Area Denial against deep strikes ruining your day... Nobody wanting to risk it is the entire point :)

Oh, yeah, I agree entirely; to clarify, I mean I've never seen it *go off*. Nobody but nobody has ever risked getting hit by it as it's written, so FAQing it to be hurt even more when you do get hit is kind of a moot point.

Shandathe 05-19-16 09:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zion (Post 2337410)
Plus we already pay a premium on toys. Marine pricing +extra points for Shield of Faith.

I can hope I'm just getting too cynical :) Shield of Faith on Rhino chassis appears to be worth 5 points (as per the Rhino) so this might make up the difference.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:23 AM.

Powered by the Emperor of Man.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome