Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums

Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/)
-   40k Rules Discussion (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/17-40k-rules-discussion/)
-   -   Brotherhood of Psykers and Independent Characters (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/40k-rules-discussion/204914-brotherhood-psykers-independent-characters.html)

MidnightSun 04-20-16 09:03 PM

Brotherhood of Psykers and Independent Characters
 
A. When a unit with Brotherhood of Psykers casts a psychic power that affects 'the psyker', is the whole unit affected? I.e. Iron Arm.

Assuming that the answer is 'the whole unit gains the benefit':

B. Tigurius joins a unit of Wyrdvane Psykers. Tigurius has the Might of Heroes psychic power. He casts this, but as the Brotherhood of Psykers rule begins with 'Any unit containing at least one model with this special rule', does he essentially become part of the Brotherhood and give every model in the unit the power, as 'the unit' is casting it (Independent Characters being treated as part of the unit to which they are joined to all intents and purposes)?

Because if he does and I can put up Warp Speed from the Wyrdvanes and Incantation of Electric Punching plus Electroshield from Tigurius and get 6 attacks each on the charge with exploding hits, that's absolutely dope. Alternatively, Iron Arm plus Might of Heroes for a squad of Guardsmen with S7 T8 I5 A3.

Rush Darling 04-21-16 12:30 PM

Interesting question!

Here's what I've got:

1) "For the purposes of all rules, the term ‘Psyker’ and ‘Psyker unit’ refers to any unit with
the Psyker, Psychic Pilot or Brotherhood of Psykers/Sorcerers special rules."

2) "A unit containing at least one model with this special rule is a Psyker unit – if no Mastery
Level is shown, then that unit has a Mastery Level of 1."

I swear to cow, I've changed my mind at least 8 times whilst trying to answer this question.

Let's start with a power: Iron Arm

Iron Arm is a blessing that targets the Psyker. Whilst the power is in effect, the Psyker
has +3 to his Strength and Toughness and he gains the Smash special rule.


Using quote 1), I can reasonably change that to read "Iron Arm is a blessing that targets the Brotherhood of Psykers. Whilst the power is in effect, the Brotherhood of Psykers
has +3 to his Strength and Toughness and he gains the Smash special rule."

(Brotherhood of Psykers has +3 to his? Yay english).

However, 2) states that a unit containing a model with this special rule is a Psyker Unit, not a Brotherhood of Psykers. Unfortunately, 1) does not state that "Psyker" refers to "Psyker Unit".

As such, if Tigerius were to cast Iron Arm whilst attached, he would be the only one to benefit. Conversely I believe that if the Brotherhood of Psykers he's attached to were to somehow cast it, Tigerius himself would not benefit.

Huh, actually, let's try this again.

Iron Arm is a blessing that targets any unit with
the Psyker, Psychic Pilot or Brotherhood of Psykers/Sorcerers special rules
. Whilst the power is in effect, any unit with
the Psyker, Psychic Pilot or Brotherhood of Psykers/Sorcerers special rules

has +3 to his Strength and Toughness and he gains the Smash special rule.

At which point I refer you back to the independent character rule. "While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules
purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters."


Ergo: Does the unit have the Psyker, Psychic Pilot or Brotherhood of Psykers special rules?

Yes - qualifies to fit the term "Psyker".

Psychic power says "Psyker" - yay.

All aboard the rape train. Now go roll Enfeeble, Life Leech and Haemorrhage. xD

Know it's far from a succinct answer, but I thought involving my extremely circuitious thought process might save someone from doing the same frigging thing.

As usual, interested in other peoples thoughts / comments!

MidnightSun 04-21-16 05:18 PM

10 Wyrdvane Psykers with Commissar and level 2 Primaris Psyker, all from the Psykana Division, Tigurius and 4 level 2 Librarians in a Conclave, all get into a Land Raider and fish for Iron Arm, Warp Speed and Endurance from Biomancy, Might of Heroes and Veil of Time from Librarius, and Electroshield from Fulmination.

What have we created? We get a squad of Str7 T8 I8 A7 Guardsmen with rerollable Storm Shields, 4+ FnP and knuckles that punch harder than a plasma cannon. Bonus points if you pick up Null Zone (Storm Shields won't save ya now bitch!) or Fists of Mighty Electric Punching (7 attacks per Guardsman, for a total of 70 attacks, 35 hits at Str7 AP2 and 70 hits at Str5 AP-)

Kreuger 04-23-16 07:56 PM

". . . and that's when my imperial guard squad began to bare-knuckle punch the Titan to death . . ."


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:19 PM.

Powered by the Emperor of Man.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome