Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums

Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/)
-   Wargaming News and 40k Rumors (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/34-wargaming-news-40k-rumors/)
-   -   Death From the Skies and 40K February FAQ Updates (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/wargaming-news-40k-rumors/121498-death-skies-40k-february-faq-updates.html)

MadCowCrazy 02-16-13 04:48 PM

Death From the Skies and 40K February FAQ Updates
 
Updated FAQs for some armies are out

Grab em here

Seems to be Fliers only updates and a cheap way to force people into buying that new fliers compendium.

Oh look, the Death From the Skies FAQ is out, before anyone has even received the book...
New record?

Death From the Skies FAQ

Here are ALL the updates from all the updated FAQs.
Rulebook Update:
Reference Section – Profile, Codex: Space Marines –
Vehicles, Stormtalon Gunship.
Change unit type to Vehicle (Flyer, Hover).

Q: Land Speeder Storms, Stormraven Gunships and
Stormtalon Gunships are all listed as Space Marine vehicles
in the Reference section. Does this mean that every Space
Marine Chapter now has access to these vehicles as well (i.e .
Space Wolves, Blood Angels, Grey Knights etc.)? (p411)
A: No – you may only select units and vehicles that are
available in the army list section of your codex. The two
exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships,
which are only available to armies chosen from Codex:
Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars. The rules for these
Flyers can be found in the Death From the Skies
compendium.

Ork Update:
White Dwarf June 2012 (WD390)
Updated rules for the Ork Dakkajet, Burna-bommer and Blitzabommer
can be found in the Death From the Skies compendium.

Space Marines Update:
White Dwarf June 2012 (UK WD390)
Updated rules for the Stormtalon Gunship and Stormraven
Gunship can be found in the Death From the Skies compendium.

Blood Angels Update:
Page 38/94 – Stormraven Gunships, Skies of Blood.
Replace this rule with the following:
Skies of Fury: If the Stormraven has moved more than 6",
passengers can still disembark, but they must do so as follows:
Nominate any point over which the Stormraven moved that
turn and deploy the squad as if it were deep striking onto that
point. If the unit scatters, every disembarking model must
immediately take a Dangerous Terrain test. If any of the
models cannot be deployed, the entire unit is destroyed, as per
a Terrible Accident result on the Deep Strike Mishap table.
Models that disembark using the Skies of Fury special rule
cannot charge in the turn that they do so.

Page 38/94 – Stormraven Gunship, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike special rule.

Q:What happens to an embarked Dreadnought that suffers an
Immobilised result from the hit when the Stormraven it is
embarked in Explodes? (p37)
A: The Immobilised Dreadnought is placed within 3" of the
large blast marker, as per the Crash and Burn rules.

Dark Eldar Update:
Page 46/93 – Razorwing Jetfighter, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike special rule.

Page 47/93 – Voidraven Bomber, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike special rule.

Grey Knights Update:
Page 37/93 – Stormraven Gunships, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike special rule.

Page 37/93 – Stormraven Gunships, Shadow Skies.
Replace this rule with the following:

Skies of Fury: If the Stormraven has moved more than 6",
passengers can still disembark, but they must do so as follows:
Nominate any point over which the Stormraven moved that
turn and deploy the squad as if it were deep striking onto that
point. If the unit scatters, every disembarking model must
immediately take a Dangerous Terrain test. If any of the
models cannot be deployed, the entire unit is destroyed, as per
a Terrible Accident result on the Deep Strike Mishap table.
Models that disembark using the Skies of Fury special rule
cannot charge in the turn that they do so.

Q:What happens to an embarked Dreadnought that suffers an
Immobilised result from the hit when the Stormraven it is
embarked in Explodes? (p37)
A: The Immobilised Dreadnought is placed within 3" of the
large blast marker, as per the Crash and Burn rules.

Imperial Guard Update:
Page 56/101 – Valkyrie Assault Carrier, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike and Scout special rules.

Page 56/101 – Vendetta Gunship, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike and Scout special rules.

Necrons Update:
Page 50/95 – Doom Scythe, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike special rule.

Page 51/91 – Night Scythe, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike special rule.

Fallen 02-16-13 08:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MadCowCrazy (Post 1340501)
Seems to be Fliers only updates and a cheap way to force people into buying that new fliers compendium.

yup.

Zion 02-16-13 09:02 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Very nice find MCC! I didn't even see this until someone pointed it out in the Flyer thread.

Necrosis 02-16-13 09:04 PM

Guess the avenger got a whole lot better.

ntaw 02-16-13 09:15 PM

The change to dreadnoughts not being removed outright from immobilized results after a Stormraven gets blown up is a pretty nice gesture. I guess it reflects that the immobilization could have occurred on landing as opposed to in the blast.

Ultimately, just an update to make you want to read the new Fliers book for sure. Oh, and let's not forget the ultimate change of the names of Shadow Skies and Skies of Blood to Skies of Fury. Shiver me tits.

Archon Dan 02-16-13 09:31 PM

Knew I should have posted here instead of General 40K. But it only applies to that game and I still beat you to it. Heehee. :victory:

Mathai 02-17-13 05:33 AM

Question: Does this new ruling, the Skies of Fury, mean that Grey Knight Interceptors no longer have their incredibly precise descent?

MadCowCrazy 02-17-13 05:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mathai (Post 1340651)
Question: Does this new ruling, the Skies of Fury, mean that Grey Knight Interceptors no longer have their incredibly precise descent?

GW "Who knows, we do have this awesome new book about fliers out! Maybe the answer can be found in it?!"


Mathai 02-17-13 05:55 AM

Then I shall pretend to be interested in purchasing the book long enough to browse 'random' pages that coincidentally have the answer to my question. ;)

...Of course it'll probably be shrinkwrapped >.<

Archon Dan 02-17-13 09:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mathai (Post 1340651)
Question: Does this new ruling, the Skies of Fury, mean that Grey Knight Interceptors no longer have their incredibly precise descent?

Unit special/specific rules that apply during Deep Strike still apply. Descent of Angels affects Blood Angel jump units whether they Deep Strike or disembark as if Deep Striking. So they still scatter only D6. Of course, even jump units take dangerous tests now if they scatter. So much for Jump Packs slowing the drop. So if the Interceptors had the rule it still applies.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:30 AM.

Powered by the Emperor of Man.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome