Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums

Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/)
-   40k Rules Discussion (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/17-40k-rules-discussion/)
-   -   Necron Night Scythe the worst transport in the game? (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/40k-rules-discussion/113457-necron-night-scythe-worst-transport-game.html)

MadCowCrazy 07-05-12 10:22 PM

Necron Night Scythe the worst transport in the game?
 
I'm playing a game tomorrow against nids, I figured I'd make a Overlord with warscythe and 5 lords with flame gauntlets and put them in a Nightscythe.

However none of these can take it as a dedicated transport.

The Nightscythe is a Flier and Transport, it can NOT Hover.
This means it's only movement is Zoom p.80
"Finally, models cannot embark upon, or disernbark from, a Zooming Flyer."

This means you can not embark upon the Nightscythe as you cannot do that with zooming fliers and the Nightscythe can only Zoom.

Nightscythe Transport rule:
TRANSPORT: The Night Scythe has a transport capacity
of 15. It can carry jump infantry (each model takes up two
points of transport capacity) and Jetbikes (each model takes
up three points of transport capacity). If the Night Scythe is
destroyed, the embarked unit is not allowed to disembark,
but instead enters reserve (when they arrive, they cannot
Deep Strike).

Tomb Blades cannot take a Nightscythe as a dedicated transport which means they can NOT embark upon one.

Wraits, Destroyers and Triarch Praetorians can't either so no Jump Infantry in the codex can use the Nightscythe as a dedicated transport.


So correct me if I'm wrong but the Nightscythe is basically the worst transport in the game, a few units can take it but once they jump out no unit can ever embark on it again?

Please correct me, please tell me I'm wrong!!!

All the FAQ did was add:
"Invasion Beams: A unit that begins its Movement phase embarked upon a Night Scythe can disembark before or after the vehicle has moved....."
Without this rule you wouldn't be able to exit the vehicle...

On page 121 it says a dedicated transport can only be used by the unit it was selected with plus any ICs with it during deployment, once they have exited other units can use it. Fliers ALWAYS start in reserve so this means the Night Scythe can never be used by any other unit than the one it was bought for...

Sakura_ninja 07-05-12 10:42 PM

I actually laughed at how retarded that is, no really I did.


Don't be a Dick, Sakura.

-DK

Hellgore 07-05-12 11:18 PM

edit: forget what I wrote, I misread some rules...

scscofield 07-05-12 11:24 PM

I think the issue is the thing can only zoom around the board, so it is impossible for units on the board to get on it.

The Sturk 07-05-12 11:29 PM

You seem to be forgetting the fact that when it gets killed, the units on it won't be taking that Str 10 hit. And the reserves issue is easily countered by a well placed Monolith, which is actually a bit more survivable now thanks to Jink.

LukeValantine 07-05-12 11:33 PM

Even if madcowcrazy is right I will still be using my night scythes as for me they have only one goal and that is to dump my units deep in the enemy deployment zone where voltaic staffs can kill all of the enemies armour. What the 3 scythes I use do after this is irrelevant to my battle plan.

Sakura_ninja 07-05-12 11:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LukeValantine (Post 1254585)
Even if madcowcrazy is right I will still be using my night scythes as for me they have only one goal and that is to dump my units deep in the enemy deployment zone

How when you can't get out?

scscofield 07-05-12 11:48 PM

All the FAQ did was add:
"Invasion Beams: A unit that begins its Movement phase embarked upon a Night Scythe can disembark before or after the vehicle has moved....."
Without this rule you wouldn't be able to exit the vehicle...

LukeValantine 07-05-12 11:56 PM

Yah so GW didn't completely screw up....just mostly. Well it looks like another year long wait till the realize that according to RaW the night scythe can only transport immortals and warriors with attached character (And is unable to pick them back up)....despite specifically listing carrying capacity for almost every unit in the codex.

mcmuffin 07-06-12 12:05 AM

Not worth it, McM

-DK


However, i suspect that the night scythes were not quite designed with this in mind, but it does provide a little bit of balance considering how difficult it is to down them. otherwise we would see you picking up a unit and moving 30 inches, then moving another 30 and dumping them off, it is almost too much speed for the game, being able to move units from one end of the board to the other in 2 turns.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:46 AM.

Powered by the Emperor of Man.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome